Skip to content
May 13, 2011 / allyo

Equilibrium

I just realized I’ve been awake for more than 2 hours and I haven’t checked Craigslist’s rental listings. (I’m there now, duh.) This week has been really stressful for me, because even though I’m relieved to be moving on and have a constant litany of “not my problem!” rolling in the back of my mind (the almost dead tree/bush thing that needs to be cut down? not my problem! the bathroom that needs to be gutted? not my problem! the fence that needs to be replaced? not my problem! etc.) I’ve been a little freaked out at the whole find the right place, tell my parents, hell, tell Jamie*, actually MOVE all this crap we’ve accumulated, etc. part of all this (yes, queen of runon sentences today, sorry)

I’ve made about 10 phone calls this week on places that fit our criteria. Several of course didn’t call me back and of the ones I talked to either the place had been rented or they won’t take dogs. Then there’s the place I looked at yesterday which would work…with sacrifices. Lots of purging, etc. But the landlord is nice and is ok w/our credit situation. I spent most of yesterday obsessing about whether we’d get the place, whether we WANT the place, how we’d make it work for us, and all that jazz. But this morning I woke up ready to mow the lawn (check) and think about what plants and things we’ll want to take with us wherever we go. So far the list is irises, lilies of the valley, and the year-round herbs (oregano, chives, garlic). Possibly the hostas. We have three cherry tomato plants waiting for me to put in pots. And I’m eying the stuff in the garage and the basement (and mentally eying the stuff in the attic) and deciding what is going to go into a friend’s neighborhood garage sale next month.

Moving on – it feels good. It’s starting to feel like the stress of the next couple of months will be worth it. And every time I cross over or under the freeway and head into our neighborhood, leaving feels even better.

*As for telling people, Jamie will be thrilled, we think. He’s been asking why don’t we move for at least 2 years. A place with sidewalks so he can ride his bike and potentially neighborhood friends will make him happy.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. dawn / May 13 2011 9:32 am

    Abby’s move has been so great for them even though the place is not the most perfect place (what place is?) in part because it’s been such a relief. Also the freedom of knowing they can move on if and when they want to. Every time something goes wrong at our house now we call them and say, “Lucky.” Like when our faucet handle broke off and we couldn’t use our kitchen faucet for a week while we waited for Brett to get paid so he could fix it? Yeah, like that. Meanwhile they had plumbing problems so they just CALLED THE LANDLORD and lo! they were fixed!!!!

    • allyo / May 13 2011 9:42 am

      Yes! Very much looking forward to that. AND, just found another place for us to look at tomorrow. So, need to tell Jamie tonight. Ha.

  2. MystikMomma / May 15 2011 8:22 am

    You will get there… all will be well all in good time. Trust and know you are being led.

  3. LittleWit / May 18 2011 6:43 am

    I hope you find the perfect place soon! 🙂 Also if you don’t feel like digging up your hostas, you are welcome to any of the ones from our farm. We’re in need of splitting again. 😀

Leave a Reply

