Skip to content
February 13, 2011 / allyo

Limbo, interrupted

My dad’s family gets together for birthdays like clockwork at least 9 months out of the year. February is one of those months. Today wasn’t the first time in February that we arrived at my aunt’s house carrying a secret. Seven years ago we had just found out that I was pregnant. We were giddy with excitement but somehow, mostly because my dad wasn’t there (accountant, tax season), we managed to hold on to the secret.

This year? Yesterday we found out that our mortgage company rejected our petition to halt the sheriff’s sale scheduled for this Friday and enter into mediation. The judge will make the final decision when MD goes back to the courthouse on Tuesday but we’re not holding out hope. I’ll start calling about houses for rent tomorrow. We have about a half a dozen possibilities ranging from maybe sketchy to around the corner from where we live now to our ideal neighborhood. Yes, credit will be an issue for those that run credit checks. We’ll need to talk about asking someone to cosign for us. I still need to tell my parents, which may seem, dunno, strange, but honestly we never thought it would come to this. Even 2 weeks ago the nonprofit we’re working with told us they thought we had a good case and a good chance. The crazy thing is, we have the money. We have the money to pay our mortgage, we even have money in savings to pay a (small) portion of what we’re behind on.

We’re pissed, we’re sad, we’re hopeful. We like our house but we don’t like our neighborhood, which makes it easier to leave. We may end up on a more friendly street with actual children for Jamie to play with. We’ll definitely have to downsize; it’s just a question of how much. We’ll still have a yard and we’ll take the new playset with us. And we’ll be together.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dawn / Feb 13 2011 10:39 pm

    I’m so sorry, Allyo. I know this transition will be hard and it’s not fair you have to make it. I’m rooting for the great house in your dream neighborhood and never looking back because things are even better this summer than they were before. I think it can happen. I’m thinking of you guys.

  2. Mystik Momma / Feb 14 2011 11:57 am

    Yes you’ll be together and through it all that is the only thing that matters. Having been in very scary situations about our housing status, being stuck with buying a house we weren’t able to afford, then having to sell our house quickly in the auction, then the living in the duplex… not knowing if my parents would let us stay… Well suffice to say, we have each other and that is what you hold onto day and night. This will bring you closer and your love will carry you through. So happy to read this post, you are real and in front of it, and that is the best course of action.

    I send you my biggest hug and my love. I find you incredibly amazing!

  3. Kelly / Feb 14 2011 12:51 pm

    So sorry you have to go through all of this. It isn’t fair. Do let me know if I can help with the transition. I am always happy to help track down rentals.

  4. Jody / Feb 14 2011 5:22 pm

    Damn. I wish they hadn’t done that, damnit. This will be a hard transition, but hopefully there will be better things once you’ve gotten through it.

  5. Dawn / Feb 15 2011 6:19 am

    I could rant for hours on how stupid this whole stiuation is and how disgusted I am that you are caught in the middle of it. But I could also offer my help moving and my good luck with the judge. Keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

