Skip to content
January 2, 2011 / allyo

I took Jamie and a friend to COSI the afternoon of new year’s eve, and while they were running laps around the rain garden, I managed to twist my ankle while walking on a paving stone. I soldiered on for the rest of the afternoon as we had JUST arrived and it didn’t really hurt that much, but then spent the rest of my evening hobbling around with one of MD’s ankle braces on and using one of his canes. Yesterday was spent icing and propping and the three of us played Mario Party for most of it and it’s much better today (although I have another day of icing and couch surfing scheduled for today as to not overdo it).

Yesterday was one part relaxing and two parts frustration/boredom, and while I was lying on the couch, unable to contemplate getting up without also thinking about the resulting pain, I realized that this experience was good for me. Both of MD’s hips are deteriorating now, and he’ll have the left one replaced this spring. His abilities to participate in day to day family life have dramatically decreased this year, and there are times when I grumble (to myself, mostly) that he’s got it easy lying about while I do all of the physical work around here. Yesterday reminded me that chronic pain is not fun. It’s not relaxing to have to lie on a couch all day. Our bodies are made to move! Our spirits need that physical input to stay healthy as well. I’m grateful for this reminder. I’m also grateful it’s short-lived. We need one whole, functioning adult around here!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. LittleWit / Jan 6 2011 2:09 pm

    You know what I didn’t know when I talked to you on the phone New Year’s eve? I had actually broken my toe that morning. 🙂 Sounds like NYE was not a good day for feet!

Leave a Reply

