Skip to content
August 1, 2010 / allyo

Yard Work

I’ve been feeling guilty about the yard again, with the overgrowth along the back fence reaching for the power lines once more. The front beds are a mess and I’m still trying to untangle the tomatoes. Last weekend I pulled grass from around the basil that was taller than the plants themselves and I’m still not sure if it will recover. Really? I may have killed basil from lack of weeding? That’s embarrassing.

But then it occurred to me that when we bought this house 9 years ago MD and I could do the yard work together. I never would have bought a house with this much yard if I had known I’d be doing most of the work myself. MD can mow on occasion but his hip has reached the point where he’s been cleared for replacement surgery. Too bad it’s a 3 month recovery period and we can’t afford to have him out of work for that long this year.

I’m starting a mental list of what “the next house” will look like, even though we can’t move for at least 3 more years and shouldn’t for another 5. I think I’ll finally win the smaller yard argument at this point, and I’ll be lobbying for lots and lots of ground cover to boot.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. LittleWit / Aug 2 2010 11:38 am

    Or instead of ground cover I vote for a nice large patio/deck for entertaining. 🙂 That is of course, assuming you can get us all out of the basement. 🙂

  2. Mytikmomma / Aug 2 2010 6:04 pm

    Wooded, treed lot! This is the way to go, lots of space, but all trees and overgrowth is no longer an issue! Then I would suggest potted planters… this is my strategy going in on the next yard, wherever that may be!

Leave a Reply

