Skip to content
May 12, 2010 / allyo

Glow

Jamie glows when he’s given meaningful praise, especially if someone besides his parents is involved. Two recent examples. Last night I mentioned that one of his teachers at school, M, had described to me a picture that Jamie had worked on the day before. His attention to detail in his drawings has been amazing lately, something that I’ve been commenting on to him. So last night I told him about M’s comments and described the picture to him the way that she did: that he drew a fireplace with stockings and trophies and logs and fire…and his face glowed.

This morning I told M about how we were in the middle of a frustrating conversation this morning, and that he wasn’t understanding me and I wasn’t understanding him and I just wanted to move on but he kept at it (calmly!) until he was finally able to clearly express his confusion to me. As I described this interaction to M and told him how impressed I was…his face glowed.

My goal this week is to see how many times I can help put that light into his face.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. LittleWit / May 12 2010 11:04 am

    I think that’s an excellent plan! 🙂

Leave a Reply

