Skip to content
April 23, 2010 / allyo

Dream analysis

I’ve been having crazy dreams the last few nights. Life has had a lot of work-related ups and downs for both MD and I, and I’ve decided that this is our year to learn patience. I find myself praying quite a bit and I haven’t been the type to pray since high school. So, good thing, I guess?

I’m still scratching my head over last night’s installment. My grandmother was upset about something Jamie did and was telling me quite vehemently that he was going to become out of control as he got older, because whatever it was that he did was a “bad sign.” I was telling her that it was normal, physiological, and to mind her own beeswax.

So, feel free to analyze that puppy in the comments!

ps- Just in case you’re new here, my grandmother passed away in 2006.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dawn / Apr 23 2010 8:50 am

    Easy-peasy.

    Brett and I joke like how you can find a Christ figure in just about any Hollywood movie, you can also call just about any dream an anxiety dream. And this is an anxiety dream. It’s about stepping out into new frontiers and being terrified that taking new steps will leave your family swinging. It’s about living without security and working to be ok with that while still being scared that without that security, it’ll all fall apart.

    Another way to do dream analysis (Dawn waxes on) is remember that everyone in the dream is a piece of you so who does that person represent in you? And also to identify your overwhelming feeling (were you frustrated, defensive, scared, pretending bravado? feeling bravado? etc.) and figure out what’s causing that feeling in real life because that’s the situation that the dream is addressing.

  2. MystikMomma / Apr 23 2010 1:25 pm

    Well you are dreaming?????

    Okay great that you are dreaming and remembering. This is a fantastic sign of awakening your inner guide.

    Certainly you are concerned about Jamie’s behaviors, as you have posted on them and looking into what it might mean. As for your grandma, well, I see her as your inner critic, because that is what she was for you while growing up, in addition to many other roles she played, whether or not she wanted or thought she was.

    There is so much going on in your life and your dreams are a way for you to escape this reality. The fact that your concerns of your son’s behavior has entered in this way, well is understandable. You needed a place to double check yourself.

    The real question is, was she right? In your heart do you feel she made some sense or is she really playing out your fears? You will know the answer in a split second if that! Also, you might want to see if you can ask her to come back and explain more.

    Your grandma has a lot to tell you and unfortunately one way to talk with you was to critic it all. She is comfortable with this form of communication. Maybe this is her way of getting your attention and she knows it. It has nothing to do with Jamie, but everything to do with you! This was the sure fire way of waking you up enough to say think of me, I want your attention now!

    I have had some very “interesting” dreams myself…. and they jar me awake and I also go “there” and then back off, telling myself that it was a way to make me pay attention, nothing more nothing less. Just wake up, pay attention and also an opportunity to work on that positive thinking therapy.

    Also when I dream of something very specific, it never is that way in reality. There are always signs pointing to something else or similar.

    What could you and Jamie represent to your life? Okay, I could go on and on, but I think there is enough here to start you on your way!

    Hugs and really happy that you are dreaming with such power and connection, this is awesome, even if a tad disturbing at times…..Lord knows I know that one!

  3. Friend D / Apr 26 2010 6:16 pm

    I’ve had some recurring dreams as well lately. I think that things that are on your mind end up coming out. At least you are sleeping!!!

    My dream involves me moving out of my house to a different neighborhood where I am not happy and I can’t figure out why I’ve done what I’ve done. Now, I’m sure you can see the message in that. But I see it as reaffirming my understanding of my true reality, not a questioning of the choices I make.

Leave a Reply

