Skip to content
April 17, 2010 / allyo

The first hit is free

The other day I was the recipient of what the knit gang only somewhat jokingly calls the “crack pack.”

SDC10201

That there is a spindle (for loan) and wool roving (to spin and keep). I’m lucky enough to have a fellow knit gang member and friend who is an incredibly talented dyer of yarn and roving and this little pack has been making the rounds within our group for several months now. Not surprisingly, we now have a burgeoning group of spinners as well as knitters and there’s another friend whose wheel is currently being loaned out to yet another friend, and well, you see where this is going.

SDC10205

I got the pack on Weds and that first spindle was filled on Thursday. I’m working on my third round and have ordered another roving. I figure it’s economical because you get twice the fun of making both the yarn and then knitting it up.

SDC10206

What really got to me was the realization that I could spin that roving up any way I wanted to. I think it actually took my breath away for a second. The creative possibilities with fiber just increased exponentially!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. LittleWit / Apr 18 2010 3:15 pm

    Mwahahaha. You’ve been sucked in. Sigh, I miss my wheel, but really I have other things to work on right now. šŸ™‚

  2. alimum / Apr 18 2010 5:11 pm

    I had a spindle for awhile which I gave away because I never got into spinning. I do not think this is a sign that I am especially resistant to crack in general, just that I am a monogamist when it comes to my addictions and the spinning crack wasn’t strong enough to battle with the knitting crack

Leave a Reply

