Skip to content
February 5, 2010 / allyo

Day 1

As MD and I were talking last night and going through our regular evening routine I realized that I was dreading waking up today. What was I going to do with myself, with no work to do? I was cleaning up in the kitchen and had to think about what to do and what not to do. All of my habits and routines revolve around work – getting there, getting home, surviving day to day. Pack my lunch? No. Set the coffeemaker? Yes, but move the time up an hour. Lay out my clothes? Yes, even though they were sweatpants and a tshirt. I’ve been working hard the last month on our morning routine – mine and Jamie’s, MD is gone now before we wake up. I like that I’ve FINALLY gotten in the habit of laying out my clothes the night before and making sure the kitchen is clean before I go to bed. (Except for Fridays. The kitchen is currently a mess.)

So, I started with a simple plan. I’d take Jamie to daycare at our usual time and then I’d go to the park and take a walk. Then I’d make some phone calls and write a to do list. I did these things, just beating the freezing rain-turned-snowpocalypse. I structured my to do list the same way I structure my work days – thinking jobs before lunch, busy work the hour or two after lunch, then easier thinking jobs at the end of the day. I took a lunch break and watched Project Runway. And then of course daycare called to let me know that they were closing early because of the snow and so I didn’t get my entire list done but I did get the top priorities crossed off.

And so I’m finding the rhythm to my days. I’m setting up coffee meetings for next week and planning errands. As soon as I get myself a steno pad I’m going to make a bunch of lists. Daily to do lists, lists of things I’ve been wanting to get to but haven’t had the time. Lists of things to make, areas in the house that just need an hour of my time. People to call, fun things to do. When I think ahead to March 31st when I won’t be getting a paycheck, I feel panicky. But MD and I can figure this out. We’re smart, resourceful people and we are at the point where it’s me, him, Jamie and Maggie that matter. As long as we’re together, we’re good. What will our lives look like 6 months from now? We don’t know. But we’ll figure it out.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. dawn / Feb 6 2010 8:46 am

    I have high hopes for you. I hope that getting to the next good thing doesn’t take so long that it strains your nerves and your checking account because I do believe that you will end up some place shinier and happier. That job had run its course for you.

  2. abby / Feb 6 2010 9:22 am

    Ditto to Dawn’s comment.

  3. LittleWit / Feb 7 2010 2:36 pm

    *hugs* Lists sound like an excellent way to prioritize your time. I know how much they help me. 🙂

  4. Julia / Feb 14 2010 12:34 am

    Hoping that the new, better thing will be realized SOON.

Leave a Reply

