Skip to content
October 9, 2009 / allyo

FIVE!

Jamie soccer 2009

My boy is turning 5 tomorrow! I’m trying to figure out how to talk about him without dissolving into a little puddle on the ground. Sure, he’s mouthy and stubborn and opinionated. He’s in super bossy mode these days, telling me with a smirk in his voice, “I KNOW you’ll do [whatever it is I just asked you for and you said no] RIGHT NOW.”  But as a parent who remembers just how bossy and opinionated a small person can be, even as I gnash my teeth and smack the kitchen counter with my hand in frustration I am, deep down, absolutely delighted by his confidence.

His latest thing is prat falling. At soccer practice this week they were practicing dribbling, and every time he circled the cones he’d collapse, waving his arms and legs madly. At bathtime he doesn’t tell me if the water is hot or cold, he does an interpretive dance. He holds his arms out and flutters his fingers down for too cold and up for too hot. If it’s just right he tilts his head back and sighs an exagerated, contented sigh.

He’s a chatterbox. When we were on vacation in Pennyslvania we went on a canoe ride. Mystik Mama’s cousin and his family were vacationing as well and her older son L rode in a canoe with his cousins. We had Jamie and V in our canoe. They are two weeks apart and great friends but quite different in many ways. Jamie didn’t stop talking once while we were paddling down the river. He was a great narrator, describing every tree, stone, wave, other canoe, how quickly/slowly we were going…his voice is high and sweet but after 20 minutes or more of it going nonstop, well, you have to laugh or your ears will bleed. At one point when he paused to breathe, MM asked V if he was having a good time. “Yes,” was all he had to say. Jamie started in again and MM and I had a good laugh.

He’s loving and affectionate and snuggly and I often think about his future partner and children and how lucky they will be.

He’s charming and gorgeous and so often when we’re together and Jamie is just is just brimming with humor and joy and life, Mad Dog and I will catch each other’s eyes and we’re both thinking, “How? How did that happen? How are we so lucky?”

Happy birthday my sweet boy. Thank you for choosing us. I love you.

Mom(my)*

*I think it should be against the law for a child in the single digits to refer to their mommy as MOM!! Especially when MD is still daddy.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Abby / Oct 10 2009 8:34 am

    Happy birthday! Five is big. You have a big kid now. I’m very sorry about that. 😉

  2. dawn / Oct 11 2009 7:31 pm

    Ack! I meant to get online yesterday so I could wish you guys happy birthday ON his birthday and then I didn’t really get online yesterday!!

    I hope you guys had a great one and I am 99.9% sure that we will very happily come to his party!!

  3. LittleWit / Oct 13 2009 11:32 am

    Happy Birthday to Jamie. 🙂 We had a great time with you two on the hay ride!

  4. Kelly / Oct 23 2009 2:13 pm

    Ack! How did I miss this post?!?! Love the picture. Happy Birthday Jamie and Alicia!

Leave a Reply

