Skip to content
October 7, 2009 / allyo

Oh yeah – 10th wedding anniversary!

I started this post almost 2 weeks ago! The weekend Jamie was sick – second weekend that is – that Saturday was also our 10th wedding anniversary.

Wow. Um, what to say? When we got married we used the money we received as gifts to pay for our very modest honeymoon in Hocking Hills – I was skipping a few days of grad school to go and, well, we were broke – and to buy a king sized mattress. MD is a big guy, and we both take up more than our share fair of the bed, plus with Cory at the time at our feet, a full size bed wasn’t cutting it. Plus, we always  knew we’d be the family with kids and dogs in our bed, even though I thought we’d have one dog and at least two kids! Due to a fortunate mix up, we payed for a regular mattress and received a pillow top model. Oh, heaven.

As far as I know, mattresses should be replaced every decade or so. At least, that was our habit when I was growing up. I thought briefly about this when we bought the mattress, as ones that size don’t come cheap. I wondered where we would get the money to replace it because once you achieve the king size pillow top mattress status, who wants to go back?

I quickly dismissed the thought and assumed that we’d have no problem replacing the mattress when the time came.

Ha ha ha! Ahahahaha!!

Ahem. Excuse me.

Replacing the mattress is the least of our worries these days, what with a broken camera (the reason for the lack of pictures here lately), no computer, and now that my work laptop has kicked the bucket, no access to a computer at home. In fact, there’s no money in our budget at work to replace my laptop until the first of the year so I’m typing on a machine so old I had to download an older version of iTunes and right now it’s typing so slowly my fingers are a few words ahead of the cursor.

However, even though we’re still broke, and we didn’t have the 2 or even 3 kids I hoped for, and a million other small and large disappointments adjustment of expectations, we are so much happier than I could have imagined. We’re kind of smug about it too, like, hey, look where we are. Who would have thought! We’ve worked incredibly hard to get here and my one constant source of satisfaction, contentment and happiness is my relationships at home. MD and Jamie are my world, and almost every day I remember that I am lucky to have them.

Ten years married, almost 16 years together, and we’re still best friends. And, he makes me laugh. (And he cooks dinner!) How lucky am I?

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. LittleWit / Oct 8 2009 1:31 pm

    Happy Anniversary! 😀 Totally lucky to have those fellas in your life.

Leave a Reply

