Skip to content
September 27, 2009 / allyo

Like Deja Vu All Over Again

Jamie was sick last weekend with a fever and stuffy nose and missed his first soccer game, a birthday party, and a regular get together with other families. I was off the Friday before last to take care of him, and then last Monday because I got what he got, and MD missed a day of work as well. Last weekend was sad, but this weekend was going to make up for it. We had another soccer game yesterday and a pizza party/sleepover at my friend D’s house for her son M’s bday. I was really looking forward to it because it was going to be a social event for the parents too.

Jamie made the soccer game yesterday and started acting really cranky towards the end. It was raining and I thought that was the only reason. Until we got him home and I realized he was warm and we watched his fever climb from 101 to 102 to 103 before finally coming down again with some ibupr0fen. So he missed the sleepover and cried quite a bit about it.

I’m feeling not great myself, with a stuffy nose  that feels like a cold coming on rather than allergies and a low grade fever.  I already know Jamie will be out tomorrow which means I’ll miss at least another day at work and maybe more. At this rate, I’ll blow through my sick days before Christmas! I borrowed a bunch of movies from friend D last weekend to get us through the sick days, and a few of them have already seen heavy rotation this weekend. Sigh. At least we vaccuumed yesterday. I’m trying to get caught up on laundry and I’m glad that at this point I’m not too sick to do anything but lie on the couch w/Jamie. I did enough of that last weekend.

Still, it’s a beautiful sunny early fall day outside…and despite his fever Jamie is eating and playing and chatting away. Sigh.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. LittleWit / Sep 28 2009 4:38 pm

    I hope Jamie feels better soon!

Leave a Reply

