Skip to content
July 30, 2009 / allyo

Interlude: Socks, and a little whine

I whipped these out in record time, taking less than 24 hours to make the second one. They don’t entail a lot of knitting, but that’s still fast for me.

New socks for Jamie

Too bad I was so busy IMing Little Wit about how I was going to finish these socks today and how awesome I am to pay much attention to the heel on the bottom sock. Let’s just say it has some technical difficulties and leave it at that. I’m not worried because these socks, a whole 1/2 inch larger than the ones I made last winter, JUST fit. My next pair is going to be a 1/4 inch longer. These were made specifically to wear in the summer, with his red crocs. I wish I had gotten a picture with the crocs on b/c they look super cute.

They’re pretty cute on his feet regardless. 🙂

As for the whine… We have to keep both our cars alive and running until a year from now when Jamie starts school. Ideally, we’ll keep MD’s truck running until the end of next year and my car running until the end of the year after that. We are putting a great deal of money into them this month and I don’t think my car is finished. It’s at the dealer today where they are charging me to re-diagnose the engine light codes even though I just had it done at Firest0ne, where they fixed a bunch of other stuff and then sent me for the dealer for two more things. I know they need to do it, I get that, it’s just, another $90? Really? We don’t have it.

These last 12 months of daycare are going to be long and frugal but I’m going to enjoy them anyway. Because I know life will get even more intense once Jamie’s in school. Yowsers…

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. LittleWit / Jul 30 2009 9:30 am

    The socks are awesome! We should come up with fun things to make them into when Jamie outgrows them. I hear ya on the money bits, I just had another filling fall out…2nd one in 3 months…yes of course I would love to pay the dentist another $100. Sigh. Economy please turn around and go back up!

  2. dawn / Jul 30 2009 10:00 am

    Those are the prettiest socks ever!!!

    We have weird engine lights on both of the cars and are in denial. Lalalala! My fingers are in my ears!!!!

Leave a Reply

