Skip to content
July 21, 2009 / allyo

Bouncing Back

I had the afternoon off last Friday and after a week that was both fun and brutal due to 5 nights of vacation bible school, I called off sick in the morning. After taking Jamie to school I crawled in to bed to take a nap, figuring if I rested in the morning I would be able to spend the afternoon cleaning and sewing like I had planned.

But that’s not how the day went. Cory had been declining rapidly for about two weeks. Although he is still quite enthusiastic about eating, more and more he spent his days laying in his bed rather than following us around the house. No begging for food or sniffing around Jamie’s chair at dinner time, and he hadn’t been up on either our bed (really tall) or Jamie’s bed (nice and short) for several days. That morning it was clear he couldn’t hold water at all, and was peeing it out all over the house almost as quickly as he drank it. So I called Jim, and then I called the vet. Our vet is awesome, and assured me that he’d argue with me if he thought this was a premature decision and we scheduled him to come over this Thursday to put Cory to sleep. I spent the rest of the day crying and moping and watching tv. That night MD and I talked about the weirdness of making an appointment. “Hey, here’s the vet…to KILL you (dum dum dum duuuuuum).”

And then I’ll be damned if that dog wasn’t on our bed Saturday morning. He spent the rest of the day sprinting across the yard, barking at the neighbors, and overall being a nuisance. While we are at dinner that night, my incredibly funny friend from grad school suggested that Cory was protesting, “I’m not dead yet!“. And indeed, Sunday was the same. Last night he both had his first accident since Friday and chewed the ends off of some banana peppers. He’s acting both happy and a little frantic – another symptom – this morning. And I know by Thursday we may need to keep that appointment after all. But the weekend was an absolute joy and I have to salute this stubborn, stubborn dog who is telling us he’ll leave on his terms.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. LittleWit / Jul 22 2009 7:03 am

    Hugs to you. Oh and I have been seeing signs for VBS everywhere and I keep thinking they’re for Visual Basic and then it dawned on me that it was Vacation Bible school!

Leave a Reply

