Skip to content
July 21, 2009 / allyo

Books in print and on cd

I have a love/hate relationship with our excellent Columbus library system. I love going and getting books, and I hate the fines that inevitably result and keep me away for months at a time until I’m ready to pony up the money. I have also had a problem finding things to read for several years. I grew up on fantasy, read young adult well into my 20s, then dipped into near-future science fiction for the early part of my 3os, and for the past several years have aspired to read non-fiction. While I can blame motherhood for part of my reluctance to follow-through on this goal, really, it just seems like work. Like studying. I like to get my news and real-world information from the radio. And the internet.

Add that to the fact that my favorite down-time past time is knitting, and books and I have been in an on-again off-again relationship for some time. This is embarrassing for me. My aunt owns a bookstore, I started reading when I was 4, and I used to come home from the library with stacks of books as long as my arms. I knew the middle reader and young adult sections of my neighborhood library from scratch.

Two things have happened recently that have brought books back into my daily life. We’ve been going to the library quite often as a family – which means that MD is getting books out too and has equal responsibility for returning the darn things – and I finally realized I could check out books on cd and upload them to my ipod. This has made bus-riding and knitting so much more enjoyable and finally, I’m catching up with the written / spoken word.

Right now I’m slogging through the audio version of Nickle and Dimed. The narrator’s voice gets on my nerves but I’m one cd away from being done. But the what I’m enjoying the most at the moment is A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg. MD and I are both reading it and it’s a real treat. Stories and recipes – is there anything better? I’m getting ready to order a copy to own, which happens rarely. We have so little space already for the books that invade every corner of our home. I only buy hardcovers, and only if I must simply have them, but still, they multiply.

What are you reading these days?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. LittleWit / Jul 22 2009 7:01 am

    I finally picked up Freakonomics off my bookcase over the weekend. So that is what I shall be reading whenever I sit down to take the time to read. I also have a severe back log of economics podcasts to catch up on as well as lots and lots of blogs in my google reader. šŸ™‚

  2. caro / Jul 22 2009 3:39 pm

    I’m not really reading anything, but I read a great story-and-recipe book a few years ago about a NY (Times?) food critic who wears disguises in order to anonymously review top notch restaurants. It’s kind of about reinventing yourself and is sort of moving, but also has some great recipes. Aaaaand I can’t remember the name of it. I’ll remember at 3am and send it to you then.

Leave a Reply

