Skip to content
July 12, 2009 / allyo

Getting my sewing mojo back

If you’ll recall, last summer my MIL surprised me with a sewing machine of my very own. I had been using my sister’s and while she wasn’t in a big hurry to get it back, she was showing some interest in learning how to use it, when I was done.

I’ve been having…issues with the machine. The last time I used it was Christmas Eve morning, and that ended in tears and presents that still haven’t been finished. I’ve taken a poke at it here and there, but finally got serious a couple of months ago. And I finally figured out what was wrong. I didn’t realize…that different machines…take different bobbins. Doh!

Even before getting the new machine I hadn’t been sewing all the much. I took up knitting because it’s portable after all. But now that Jamie’s old enough to sit at the desk in the sewing room and work on his own projects of the playdough or drawing variety I’ve been working at it more. And here are the latest results.

"Hot Wheels" Jammies
Jamie spotted this fabric awhile back and begged me to make him some “hot wheels” jammies.

Linen skirt for me
I’ve had the fabric for this linen skirt for almost two years. Pattern is Cute Skirts, by Favorite Things.

Later today, what I’ve been knitting. Sorry to those of you who do neither! 🙂

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Abby / Jul 12 2009 10:30 am

    I do neither, but I love seeing other people’s gorgeous creations! You’re so talented.

  2. Mystik Momma / Jul 12 2009 10:35 am

    YEAH for you! I have a knit jersey that I want to do in a skirt and was looking for a great pattern to sew… this skirt looks ultra cute!

    We need to bring the knitting to the cabin! What fun that will be! What other crafty things can we bring for the boys….. Will have to think about that for a bit.

  3. Mystik Momma / Jul 12 2009 11:17 am

    Tie Dye!

  4. LittleWit / Jul 12 2009 12:44 pm

    I love the hot wheel jammies, could you make some for the boy in a size L? 😉

  5. Mystik Momma / Jul 18 2009 4:20 pm

    I just noticed the background was your kitchen. It looks like you added some functionality on the back wall, correct? Would love to see a photo of it!

    Hope you are well as thoughts will be on Cory.

Leave a Reply

