Skip to content
June 9, 2009 / allyo

Kids are a mystery – painted face edition

We went to the Arts Festival on Sunday and to my surprise, Jamie asked to have his face painted. He’s always vehemently refused when asked. They were doing gold masks and he was adorable when they were done. He had little black ears above his eyebrows and long whiskers below his eyes, with some other embellishments and looked like a little kitty. But when I went to take a picture to send to MD he started crying and didn’t want me to show daddy.

???

Apparently, “black isn’t beautiful.” I think it’s because he’s really into what’s “beautiful” (for girls) and “cool” (for boys) and has been talking about “beautiful colors” lately. But when my sister and I tried to explain that we wear black on our eyes he wouln’t let it go. So I washed his face off as soon as we got home and we cuddled a little and he seemed to be over it until he talked to MD on the phone later. Whenever they end their conversations they do so by saying “I love you” and sometimes when MD starts to say it Jamie will stall by saying, “NO! Wait Daddy. I have to tell you something.” But this time he said, “No! Wait, daddy, I have to…well, it was something SO UGLY I just can’t tell you.”

The kid just doesn’t let things go.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. LittleWit / Jun 9 2009 2:44 pm

    Aww poor Jamie. I should have gotten my face painted! I really had to restrain myself from plopping down right next to the 5 and 6 year olds! 😉

Leave a Reply

