Skip to content
February 13, 2009 / allyo

Tree down!

When Ike came blowing through these parts last fall, we sat at the dinner table and watched our big pine tree out front lean at about a 45 degree angle because of the 75 mph wind gusts. I thought for sure we’d lose it but we didn’t.

However, my guess is that it was weakened enough that all it took was another wind storm to knock it down.

Tree Down

This one only made it up to 60 mph twice, but it was enough.

Tree Down

The really freaky part was watching the wind hit it and the ground pulling up where the roots were loose.

Tree Down

We actually didn’t hear it come down. I went to bed at around 11 and couldn’t sleep so I went back to the window about 20 minutes later and there it was lying on the ground.

Tree down

I have mixed feelings about it because in my opinion it was an eye sore and should havebeen cut down ages ago. But Jamie loves it. He hugs it and picks its pinecones and plays under it.

His first reaction was sadness. “But I want the tree to be standing up!” But we’ve promised to get a smaller, more appropriate tree that flowers and he’s pretty excited about that.

Now for the funny part. Since it didn’t fall ON anything (house/car) or in the driveway, our insurance doesn’t cover the removal. But we have a friend coming tomorrow to help us cut it up. He’s going to take the trunk but we’re going to have to deal with the branches ourselves.

MD is THRILLED to be spending his one day off a week doing tree removal, let me tell you…!

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. dawn / Feb 13 2009 5:36 pm

    I had friends who used the trunks to a downed tree to build a tree house but that is beyond my capability. When you were twittering about your pine tree I didn’t really realize it was THE pine tree!!! I just couldn’t imagine something that big going down!!!!

  2. MystikMomma / Feb 14 2009 10:06 am

    A sign of old yucky things that annoy you going away????????

    Certainly pray that this will unlock some beauty coming to your home and family, the kind of nice energy that you all need.

    Sorry about MD having to do tree clearing!

  3. LittleWit / Feb 14 2009 9:47 pm

    Oh wow! Maybe you can sell the wood for firewood?

  4. Kristen / Feb 14 2009 11:24 pm

    Wow -that was a big tree! I’m sorry-but congrats on the new flowering tree possibility! I was surprised that more trees and limbs didn’t come down! It was windy!!

  5. Jody / Feb 19 2009 5:22 pm

    Oh MY. (We’ve had trees come down in the wind, too, and I’m always surprised by how quiet it is.)

    There was a huge pine tree in front of the house I grew up in, and my father couldn’t bear to part with it, but when he sold the house, the new owners chopped it right down and it did great things for the yard and the house’s “curb appeal.”

Leave a Reply

