Skip to content
February 2, 2009 / allyo

The meme that ate my Facebook

So there’s this meme going around Facebook and many of the blogs I read.  And I can’t help but think that after 4+ years of blogging that making a list of 25 random things about myself seems random and redundant, but here we go:

25 Random Things About Me

  1. My mother told me once that my birthday isn’t right, that to save her money they changed the date on my birth certificate to one day later. I’m pretty sure that’s among many of the untruths she told me about the time that I was born but I’ve wondered if I’d be a totally different person if my birthday was on the 28th.
  2. I’ve been to Europe 4 times but never to California.
  3. I sucked my thumb until I was 4 or 5. It was one of the few things that my grandma never bugged me about.
  4. We had a pit bull growing up and she was an awesome dog.
  5. I always knew I’d have to be passionate about my career.
  6. But for a long time I thought I’d be a musician. I didn’t know arts administration existed as a career until college.
  7. Even then, I majored in art history as an undergraduate and promptly got a retail job after graduating.
  8. Oh, and it took me 6 years to graduate. I went part time a lot, and I partied a lot.
  9. My husband and I went to the same grade and high schools. He was a year behind me and I knew his little brother but not him.
  10. I knew his little brother because we were in marching band together.
  11. At one point in time I could play flute, trombone, guitar, and a little on the piano.
  12. I also took art and ballet lessons as a child. I’m so grateful that my grandparents recognized the value of arts education and were able to provide those opportunities for me.
  13. I went to 12 years of Catholic schools.
  14. I believed in God and I prayed and everything.
  15. I even baked Communion bread for all the school services my senior year in high school.
  16. I spent about a decade coming to terms with my eventual split with the Catholic church.
  17. We go to a Methodist church now and I like. I may even pray again from time to time.
  18. My son has two middle names because my husband and I both felt VERY strongly about naming him after people very important to us.
  19. Before I had my son I was a delicate flower that could only handle a cup of half caf in the mornings, and maybe some tea in the afternoons.
  20. My son stopped sleeping at about 4 months old and didn’t really start again until somewhere around 18-24 months  (that’s 2 YEARS almost of not sleeping – it might have been longer but I’ve chosen to remember it otherwise. Please don’t burst my bubble). This meant that I was up to half a pot of coffee in the MORNINGS at one point. Not to mention a venti latte every afternoon.
  21. All the weight I lost immediately after giving birth came right back after going back to work. It’s because I ate a scone every afternoon to chase down that latte.
  22. I needed the sugar. I was really, really tired.
  23. I don’t think I could do that again with the job I have now.
  24. Speaking of sugar, I was pretty severely hypoglycemic before I was pregnant. When I was pregnant I could eat all the sugar I wanted, and even now my hypoglycemia is very mild.
  25. That’s not the only – or even main – reason that I love my son, but it’s a great bonus!
2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. MystikMomma / Feb 2 2009 8:00 pm

    Yeah, I heard about this list of 25 things…. I also have been asked twice this past week to join Facebook…. YOU know, I am just enjoying my blog and google reader now, I can’t be bothered with FACEBOOK too!

    We are home, I am sick and trying to get in gear for tomorrow’s first day of school at the new Homeschool group.

    Ciao

  2. LittleWit / Feb 3 2009 9:47 pm

    That looks like a fun meme. 🙂 My entire life is random but I think it would be a hard list to come up with.

Leave a Reply

