Skip to content
January 2, 2009 / allyo

Rounding the corner on a new year

I don’t know if it’s the fish oil that I finally started taking a few days ago, the sparkling red wine we drank on New Year’s Eve, a suprise phone call from a dear friend (who I’ll actually be seeing in a few weeks, huzzah!), the potluck we hosted yesterday, or what, but I’m feeling better. I suspect it’s a combination of all of the above combined with the renewed sense of hope I seem to feel at the start of every new year. It’s kind of silly in a way, to put so much on the transition from one year to the next. Dec. 31st vs. Jan 1st is really just the difference of 24 hours, but I think it’s good to hit some sort of internal reset button every twelve months, even if the effects are purely psychosomatic.

One of the reasons I am so pleased that we hosted the potluck yesterday is that I’ve been whining about being more social but not doing a whole lot about it. Yes, my dogs are a royal PITA (our fault entirely) and yes, the four year old started acting up towards the end of what ended up being and adult-only occasion, but I’m told that everyone had a good time and so did we. That’s what’s important.

In that vein, since MD’s schedule makes it hard to get to our weekly knitting night, I’m working on starting a lunchtime group for people that work in the same area of downtown as I do. Our first date is this coming Weds. So, yay for being proactive.

And speaking of MD’s schedule, the hell starts again on Sunday. We don’t know if he’ll have one or two days off this quarter, but we have a plan either way. If he is off on Fridays, I’ll take Jamie to daycare giving MD a chance to sleep in a recover from the physical pain of the working week and MD will pick him up a couple of hours early so they can have some good one-on-one time. This will also give me a night off, if I so choose. If he does end up working 6 days a week it’s likely his only day off will be Saturday, which means lots of overtime money (good) but v. little family time. MD will be incapacitated for most of Saturday, so my plan is to get up and get moving right away Saturday mornings, take Jamie with me to do the grocery shopping for the week, and then rousing MD at lunchtime for some quiet family time the rest of the day.

Sundays seem daunting when I think about it, but they ended up being the easiest thing to deal with in November when we lived the 6-day work week for a month. We go to church in the morning which kills the day until lunchtime and then there are plenty of options for filling the rest of the afternoon. We go to my dad’s every other Sunday around 4:30 and are there until bedtime, and the off Sundays I plan to fill with playdates and lots of physical activity that would normally leave MD out anyway.

It’s the weeknights that are killer. Not for the old reasons. Jamie will actually play by himself these days while I’m making dinner or if not, I have no qualms about an hour of tv at this age. And bedtime is a breeze. No, it’s because every. Single. Night. Jamie asks, “Is daddy home,” and whines and cries when he receives the inevitable “no.” OMG, it’s so freaking hard, I’m tearing up now thinking about it. MD is scheduled until 8:30 this quarter instead of 8:00, so there isn’t even the chance that he can race home to say goodnight as Jamie’s falling asleep.

Hmmm…I think on the days that Jamie doesn’t nap I’ll move bedtime a half hour later, since it’s harder for him to fall asleep anyway. Maybe they can still get in a few bedtime hugs.

Ok, enough of that. I’m off to run some errands and I think I’m going to take myself to a move at the cheap theatre.  I’m not telling what it is because I feel a little silly going without a kid in tow. It’s too old for Jamie though.

Happy New Year!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. MystikMomma / Jan 3 2009 9:29 am

    Nice to read this post… Find your strength within.

  2. LittleWit / Jan 5 2009 9:38 am

    Thanks again for hosting all of us. It was a grand time. 🙂 Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

