Skip to content
December 26, 2008 / allyo

My Grandma O cried yesterday when it was time for her to leave my dad’s. It was a miracle that she was there. She had taken a turn for the worse right before Thanksgiving and we thought she would be gone before Christmas. But she wasn’t. Through sheer determination I think. She arrived at my dad’s yesterday in Christmas red, ate a tiny bit of ham and drank a small glass of beer. I’ve never known her to turn down a beer, and when my uncle asked her if she wanted the last few sips in her glass, she said in the same way I’ve heard her say many times before, “Well yes, I think I’ll have a little more.”

But she cried when it was time to go. We all did, knowing that her time is running short and this was our last holiday together. It’s been such a shitty year. It doesn’t look like it’s going to end any better.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. American Family / Dec 26 2008 1:16 pm

    Oh, how hard. I am glad that you family had this one last holiday together at least.

  2. MystikMomma / Dec 26 2008 2:58 pm

    Hugs… just hold onto all the time you have spent together, knowing the circle of life changes things and one day you will be the grandma and you have yet to meet your family…. there are people you haven’t met yet because they haven’t been born yet. As a tear is shed, a smile is created in the circle of life.

    Side note… we went to visit Hubbie’s Granny when I was pregnant. I thought for certain she would let go and pass away, thinking this was our last visit… a year later, she saw her great grandson born, took photos with him and hung on some more…. literally that woman held on 18 months after we all thought she would let go. The will is a strange thing, even when we don’t see it.

  3. LittleWit / Dec 28 2008 8:48 pm

    Hugs. Hopefully 2009 will be a better year and maybe you will be able to steal away another holiday season.

Leave a Reply

