Skip to content
July 23, 2008 / allyo

Breathe

I’m off today after an unbearable stint of crazy days at work. So far I’ve taken Jamie to daycare and mowed the lawn, caught up the checkbook and argued with MD. Productive, eh? MD actually took the day off too and is out running errands while I catch my breath. We’re having the carpet and couch cleaned this afternoon. We are hosting a work event this Sunday and that was what it finally took for me to make that call. The minor hassle and minor cost will be so worth it, and I just wonder why I didn’t do it a couple of years ago. Sigh.

I had plans for sewing and cleaning and all those good things but instead will be spending some quality time with the husband. When I scheduled this day I was wishing we could take it together, so it’s funny that right now I just want to sit here all day alone in silence. I am just full up-to-here with stuff. I guess it’s a form of sensory overload. I want to hide under the covers for a few days until my brain has time to rest.

The nice thing is that these feelings are NOT those of a depressed person, unlike last week when I sank into a funk on Weds and didn’t emerge until Sunday night. This is just that holy crap, I really need a vacation feeling. And the realization that summer is half over and we haven’t even been to the pool once.

I’m taking a week off at the end of August to spend with Jamie before he starts his new daycare, but I’m thinking I need to squeeze a monday and tuesday in there somewhere for myself. There is so much I want to do around here and there’s never a minute to do it. I hope wherever I work next has options for working four 10 hour days. I’m thinking more and more that is what I need to achieve a little more breathing room.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. dawn / Jul 23 2008 10:53 am

    Are you guys going to go to a movie? You should do something fun like that (heck, dollar movies these days — and the candy at Screens is cheap, too)!

  2. Kelly / Jul 23 2008 12:06 pm

    breathing room is good. I have an idea for you and will send it via email.

Leave a Reply

