Skip to content
May 24, 2008 / allyo

Today

Did not get off to a good start. Jamie and I both started to wake up at 6ish (and this after I was up until almost 1 a.m. because – no lie – I simply could not lie still). Thank heavens we both fell back asleep because the next thing I knew it was 7:30 and Jamie was head-butting me in the back of the head, something he does when he’s half awake and not happy about it. It took about 20 minutes to get him fully awake and reasonable, but we never really achieved happiness this morning. Well, there was happiness over bacon, but that was about it. The low point was me trying to get Jamie out the damn door to get MD some ibuprofen* and him doing this horrendous shriek that he’s been doing lately that’s worse than fingernails on a chalkboard, and I popped him – hard – on the bottom. I’m not proud, but there you have it.

Even the trip we made to the toy store -born partly of guilt and partly because we’ve been hanging on to gift cards since Christmas to buy some summer/outdoor toys – was frustrating because I wasn’t thrilled with what we came home with. No matter, after lunch we took advantage of the beautiful weather today and dragged a bunch of art supplies outside. I’d like to tell you that he’s out there still stretching artistically, but in fact, he’s noodling around with a set of water guns.

I’ve talked a lot about this to Dawn, and she recently found her gun post and shared it with me. It’s really good, and so following her logic Jamie is allowed water guns, as long as he doesn’t squirt people or dogs. He tested this immediately of course and there was lots of screaming and talking while the guns took a time out, but now he’s happy as can be. So a day that started with spanking is ending with guns, and I guess I just don’t care.

*to add insult to injury, MD’s gout is acting up so the meds are doubly important. sigh.

Leave a Reply

