Skip to content
February 13, 2008 / allyo

Bronchitis + a side of asthma

Equals feeling like death warmed over.

I went to the doctor yesterday, feeling sheepish about it because at that time I was just coughing with no sign of infection – no fever or, you know, colored sputum. (Sorry, TMI!) Anyway, the minute the doctor heard me coughing he ordered a chest x-ray, but it came back clear so his diagnosis was a severe asthma response to what might be bronchitis and he sent me on my way with scripts for antibiotics and prednisone. Ugh. If you’ve never had to be on prednisone, be thankful. It’s extremely effective but with nasty side effects.

I felt guilty about filling the antibiotic, but when I woke up this morning, both signs of infection were present and accounted for. So now I’m thankful for the prescription, whether it represents thoughtful doctoring or just knee-jerk prescribing.

This is the time of year when the sick time becomes ridiculous, between taking care of Jamie and myself, and although this is our fourth winter with a small one, I’m taken aback and slightly insulted each and every time. It’s also quite a busy time for me at work, of course, and yet I always, somehow, manage to get it all done. So I’m going to send a few more work-related emails and then plan my butt firmly on the couch where it belongs.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. caro / Feb 13 2008 1:48 pm

    Yick…feel better!

Leave a Reply

