Skip to content
January 5, 2008 / allyo

Holy Mole – Posole!

When I was in Santa Fe and Taos last fall I rediscovered my long-dormant love of hominy. Growing up we used to cook it in the same pan as polish sausage, and the resulting greasy, creamy mess was one of my favorite dinners. The conference I attended provided local cuisine for all our meals, and I was finally able to try posole. I had two or three different versions and all were heavenly.

This recipe is likely less-than-authentic, but it is quick and easy and perfect for a hurried weeknight supper. I’m not sure of the source of the recipe as it was given to me by a friend.

Mole Posole

1/2 – 1 whole onion, chopped

bell peppers – any type or combo, about 1 whole pepper, chopped

1 can black beans

1 can hominy

2T mole sauce

Saute the onion and peppers in a soup pot until soft. I use about a tablespoon of canola oil but you could use cooking spray if you want the dish to be fat free. Meanwhile, drain the hominy. The recipe says to drain the beans too but I found this made the posole dry, and nothing like a stew. So I don’t drain my beans. Stir in the mole sauce, and then dump in the beans and hominy. Simmer about 10 minutes, and serve.

The original recipe calls for 1-2 jalapenos, but if you’re sharing this with a three-year old like I am who is suddenly sensitive to plain black pepper, let alone the mild spice he USED to enjoy, you’ll want to leave it out. That’s when something like this comes in really handy. I bought it for MD’s stocking but broke the package open last night and used it on my posole. Yum!

Oh, and all that leftover mole sauce can be frozen in ice cube trays and saved for your next batch. Just pop two cubes in the microwave to soften and add as usual.

I love this dish for many reasons, first, yummy! Second, uses ingredients we pretty much always have on hand, third, it’s vegetarian (I eat meat, just not tons), fourth it’s low-fat yet full of protein and feels like comfort food, and finally, because it makes a great side dish or main dish. And because Jamie scarfs it down and asks for seconds.

So, even if you’re like MD who thinks hominy is some bizzarro science experiment food that’s better left alone, give this recipe a try. And if you do, let me know what  you thought.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Vienna / Jan 11 2008 2:10 pm

    I just finished a cup of this. YUM. Seriously, I don’t care if it’s authentic- it’s good! I didn’t drain the hominy because I am a soup person vs. stew person and I did add two jalapeno peppers and some salt. The mole sauce I bought this time was different than I usually get and it was also spicy. Needless to say, the insides of my lips are en fuego!

    Thanks! I used cooking spray to saute the veggies and followed the instructions otherwise. According to my recipe calculator on the WW site, each serving (I said this recipe serves 4) is 4 points. Worked out to about a cup per serving (a little over). And LOADS of protein. I am so glad I read your blog!

    Oh, and tell MD that hominy IS a weird science experiment. I’d never eaten it before today and didn’t expect it to be squishy or to taste just like corn tortillas. So weird! Good, but weird.

  2. allyo / Jan 11 2008 10:20 pm

    Yay, I’m glad you liked it! I’ve had leftovers every morning this week with a fried egg on top for breakfast.

    Beans are my favorite diet food. They’re perfect.

Trackbacks

  1. Outside « many good things

Leave a Reply

