Skip to content
January 4, 2008 / allyo

Damn, I’m tired

This working all day, every day thing is for the birds. I was just getting used to something resembling a full-night’s sleep (post-Christmas, of course) and here I am back at my desk in my hot, hot office, 2:30 in the afternoon, wondering how much caffeine I can ingest before starting to shake.

I’m also tired of saying the following: stop hitting me; really, stop hitting me or you’ll get a time out; stop kicking me or you’re getting another time out (no, I still don’t think time out really work and yet, better that than hit him back); clean up your toys; that’s why we clean up our toys, so we don’t loose them and then freak out about it; no; no you may not; and no, I said no and I’m done talking about it (although this one seems to actually work much of the time, meaning the best way to deal with my child at the moment is to IGNORE him).

The winner (loser) however, is the battle over the morning routine. Getting that child out of his dirty pull-up is hell, and yet worse is getting him to brush his teeth. I know it’s a power struggle, the things I have tried to make it less of a power struggle haven’t worked, and I was 15 minutes late for work on Weds because of a 20 minute all-out temper tantrum over the damn teeth. I thought he was going to puke from the screaming and the crying.

I think we should start a 3 year-old co-op. We can rotate herds of them among the participating houses, because that’s the only way I’ve been able to relax this week. When he’s been playing with someone else’s children.

Anyway, anyone else still have their tree up? I’m sick of it and I wanted to take it down New Year’s eve, but instead we ran around all day picking up all the crap still lying around from Christmas. I seem to be moving like molasses these days and I still have 2 small appliances that need homes, and 4 new folding chairs leaning against the wall in the dining room, begging me to clear a space in the garage for them. Thankfully it was trash day today. I think we’ll have rid ourselves of most of the Christmas trash by mid-January. Hopefully I’ll find the energy to box up the ornaments tonight, because I’d rather do it without Jamie’s “help” tomorrow.

I’ll leave you with this gem from last night. I was rocking Jamie after we turned the lights out, and he (GASP! SHOCK!) wasn’t really cooperating. He kept wriggling around and then when he finally got comfortable, requested a hug. And promptly let out this huge fart. We laughed, and I prompted him to say “excuse me” by asking him if he just farted. And he said yes, that I had squeezed it out of him.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dawn / Jan 4 2008 4:16 pm

    Other than that, how was the play Mrs. Lincoln??

  2. Austina / Jan 4 2008 4:51 pm

    HA HA! Yes our tree is still up and will be up until mid Jan. I don’t want to take it down until after the epiphany. I have to admit I am still wanting to hear Christmas Music. Usually I have had my fill, but this year for some reason, I am still trying to find the happy songs.

    I am hooking!!! Not very well, the tension is getting me, but I am doing something that resembles something! Yeah!!!!

    I found felted yarn.. love it!

  3. thordora / Jan 4 2008 8:16 pm

    I’m weird about having it down by twelfth night, so it’s gone. (I’m so happy I could pee)

    I can’t wait to go to work so I don’t have a chorus of “see mommy!” following me everywhere.

  4. Tara / Jan 4 2008 8:26 pm

    Our tree is still up, too. I also want to have it up through epiphany, though we truly haven’t had time to take it down regardless.

  5. caro / Jan 5 2008 12:39 pm

    Our tree is still up, and we are by far not religious enough to claiim any liturgical calendar reason for that. The tree is up and half the needles are down on the living room floor.

    The stuff you are saying all the time sounds so terribly familiar. Is there any reprieve at all between Two and Three or does it just keep right on going?

  6. Vienna / Jan 5 2008 1:03 pm

    I forget what the questions were, but my answers while reading were Yes, yes, yes, and YES.

    On the toothbrush front, a musical toothbrush that plays Star Wars music has helped. Immensely. Like, I can brush his teeth for two whole minutes helped. Wow.

    And our tree is still up and will be up for probably 12 days after epiphany!

  7. Andrea / Jan 10 2008 10:45 pm

    I mostly lurk, but today I must say thank you for the validation, because I have a 3 yr 4 mo. old boy and totally relate. Except I don’t even try to make him brush his teeth in the morning, because doing it at night is such an ordeal for us all. He is adorable, but exhausting. I just don’t know how to handle him sometimes, and I worry often his most infuriating traits are never going to go away. And then he kisses me and I feel bad for even thinking that way.

    He has an older sister, and she had her moments at his age, too, but not like this.

    And we just took down our tree. Packing up all the holiday stuff will take another week, at least.

Trackbacks

  1. Three « many good things

Leave a Reply

