Skip to content
October 2, 2007 / allyo

I’m just glad to have made it to work in (mostly) one piece

It seems that however the week starts it forms a cycle that I can’t break out of. So if I’m on time on Monday, I’m on time the rest of the week. Sadly, I was not on time yesterday, and the cycle held true for today.

I was rushing through tonight’s dinner dish, and carelessly chopped into my finger when I was supposed to be chopping some parsley. After tending to my wound and giving MD instructions on what else to put in the beans before putting them in the oven, I left the house about 15 minutes late.

The morning wasn’t done with me yet, however. As I was merging on the freeway I saw the guy two cars ahead of my waving his middle finger around, presumably at the car just in front of me that I’m guessing tried to merge in front of middle finger guy.

Can I pause here to state my #1 driving pet peeve. If you can’t be the type of driver that actually allows other people to get on the freeway within your general vicinity, then DON’T DRIVE IN THE RIGHT HAND LANE DURING RUSH HOUR. Really, jackass, the entire city is trying to get to work, I think people are going to want to get on and off the freeway.

Ok, back to the road rage incident du jour. For the next ten minutes a scene with the very real potential to cause a major accident played out just behind me. Finger guy wove in and out of traffic screaming and pointing, while merge guy scooted himself over in to the left lane just behind me, presumably trying to get to work in one piece. Then another car somehow got involved, not sure how, but I saw finger guy and third car dodging each other in the right lane, finger guy slamming on his brakes, and a SEMI for god’s sake pulling over onto the median because the driver couldn’t stop fast enough.

At this point I called MD and read off finger guy’s license plate, thinking if I was going to die in a fiery car crash that day, I wanted him to know who caused it.

Thankfully, right after I got off the phone finger guy disappeared and I saw merge guy and other car both on their phones, so my guess is they were notifying the police about the incident.

I got to work a half hour late, but mostly in one piece. Whew.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Austina / Oct 2 2007 6:02 pm

    Okay, I have to say that in light of my yucky day yesterday, I chucked to read about finger guy, actually out loud. Say it with me, “finger guy”. I know at the time finger guy was more like bleeping bleep guy, but it is fun to say out loud and I am also glad you are in one piece!

Leave a Reply

