Skip to content
September 25, 2007 / allyo

Saturday night

Saturday night after dinner we paused outside the restaurant to indulge in a cigarette. It was a rare, gorgeous late summer evening, warm and balmy, and yet impossibly there was a slight chill in the air reminding us that that fall is just around the corner. As we pulled away, windows down, New Order came on the radio and I was struck with how ridiculous it is that I am about to turn 37 with an almost 3 year old. How have the last 15 years flown by? Driving down the freeway, the cool night air rushing by, for a moment the years fell away and I was 20 again. The future was, and is, wide open.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Monica / Sep 25 2007 2:46 am

    I am often hit with the same feeling. Fifteen years ago, I would never have guessed my life would be the way it is now so I can’t imagine what the next 15 will bring! But, oh, a cigarette? How I miss indulging!

Leave a Reply

