Skip to content
August 28, 2007 / allyo

Finished: bags

This first bag I finished ages ago and never took a picture. It’s Amy Butler’s Chelsea pattern, tote size.

Chelsea bags

It’s smallish for a tote but perfect for carrying a few folders to a meeting, makes a great lunch tote, and in it’s latest incarnation, the perfect bag for carrying around a small crochet project, complete with pattern book.

Chelsea bags

This I just finished last Friday, and I love, love, love it. It’s the Pleated Beauty handbag from, what

else, Bend the Rules Sewing.

Pleated beauty handbag

I’m working my way through this book little by little (including this project, which, shhh, is a secret. It’s complicated, making gifts for people who read this blog. Ooh, like this one.) This bag was more complicated than it should be because I kept rushing through the steps without really reading carefully or looking at the illustrations. Like, it’s an inch too short because I wasn’t paying attention when I cut the linen, of which I have a very limited supply, considering it’s an old skirt of mine. And contrast stitching on stretchy, saggy linen? When you’re still technically a beginner? Not the best idea.  But I love it and plan on getting lots of use out of it.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. caro / Aug 28 2007 7:27 pm

    Oooh — I love the first one. ideas on where to buy the pattern?

    Also, congrats on the potty training. Sheer bribery is not something we had considered yet but I can see it being effective.

  2. thordora / Sep 4 2007 2:31 pm

    ooh! I like the one with the red!

  3. Alma / Jan 30 2009 2:31 pm

    Hi, I absolutely looooove the first bag!!! Where did you get the sewing pattern?

Leave a Reply

