Skip to content
August 14, 2007 / allyo

Sleep, again

I started this at work earlier today and somehow lost it. I think that’s the first time that’s happened since I switched to WordPress, so I’m sure it’s user error…

So, let’s cut to the chase. Last Weds on the way home I talked to Jamie about how his body needs sleep so it doesn’t get sick and when we turn the lights out he needs to shut his eyes and go to sleep. Some crying and protesting later, I figured out that it was fear of spiders making him fight sleep. So, flashlight in hand, we went on a spider hunt at bedtime. It worked fairly well, and a mere 45 minutes after we turned the light out, he was asleep.

And even though I don’t really care for the super nanny, the next night I let him hang on to his flashlight after turning the lights out and left, and came back, and left, until he was crying so hard he was gagging and that was the end of that. I just don’t think that technique works for every child, and just as he was a baby that got more and more agitated the more he cried, the toddler/preschooler equivalent was not working. Maybe I’m lazy, but I’m not willing to do that night after night on the off chance that it’ll work. I know my kid, and it’s more likely that it will make bedtime even more of a struggle.

So I’m working out some other techniques. Absolutely no eye contact or verbal acknowledgement after the lights go out, with the thinking that eventually he will have no reason to have me in the room (yes, he does know that he’s pushing my buttons). Leaving before he’s completely asleep.

That doesn’t change the fact that on the weekends when he doesn’t nap he falls asleep in 10 minutes. Well, our schedule may be changing some time in the near(ish) future and that may not be an issue. We’ll see. Oh, and yes, sleep does beget sleep. Actually, when he doesn’t nap, he not only tends to fall asleep earlier but he sleeps later in the morning. So giving up one hour during the day nets us an additional two hours at night. Because eventually, sleeping patterns change and the nap is dropped. We just seem to be in that inbetween time right now where if he’s given the opportunity at daycare he does nap most day. Damn.

At this point it’s almost moot because we have sinus issues again and I’m working the sudafed and saline hoping we can get things resolved without going to the doctor, but if things aren’t better by the end of the week we’ll have to. Anyway, Sunday night he slept horribly anyway, and last night he was fine until 5:30 when he woke up because of the “burgers” in his nose. Yummy!

Thanks for the suggestions. It gave me a lot to think about.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. dawn / Aug 15 2007 1:27 am

    Oh rats, Allyo. I’m sorry.

Leave a Reply

