Skip to content
July 31, 2007 / allyo

Last Friday night

Chocolate? What was I thinking??

I was out of my mind, obviously, when I ordered Jamie a chocolate ice cream cone after dinner on Friday night. The orange shirt – a favorite – still hasn’t come clean (I’m open to tips!). But we had survived a miserable dinner out and I needed a sure bet for dessert.

Because, what you can’t see (clearly) is Dawn sitting behind Jamie, or Cecily sitting next to me. Or Charlie walking a tired and cranky Tori, or Dawn’s wonderful husband Brett* entertaining their two kids, so that the mamas could talk and talk and talk. If it weren’t for the kids, we would have closed down the place.

It was awesome. Real people, from right inside my computer! Oh, and I met American Family earlier that day as well. What a blast.

*Wonderful because as I was thisclose to having to leave the restaurant in the middle of dinner because an exhausted Jamie was making a scene. I was totally torn between, um, being a PARENT, and not missing out on dinner with Cecily and Charlie, when Brett stood up and said, “Hey, I’ll take Jamie and Madison for a walk so you can eat, ok?” Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful man.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dawn / Jul 31 2007 9:06 pm

    Brett is pretty swell, which is why I put up with him and stuff.

  2. Austina / Aug 1 2007 12:56 am

    It looks like you were at Denise’s…. I am jealous!

  3. allyo / Aug 1 2007 3:43 pm

    Yep, Denise’s. I thought about you!

  4. Kelly / Aug 1 2007 5:21 pm

    mmmmmmm. Denise’s. I have Henry on my own tonight, so perhaps a diversion out for ice cream is in order.

  5. Brian / Aug 1 2007 7:07 pm

    Speaking of Henry, this photo of Jamie shows why Henry is a cups-only man in the world of ice cream. Grab a spoon, kid.

    Wait a minute, Kelly — I had Henry on my own last night! And I showed him freakin’ dinosaur fossils! Ice cream?!? Cheater! 🙂

  6. allyo / Aug 1 2007 8:19 pm

    Amateurs. I have Jamie on my own at least 4 nights a week! 😉

Leave a Reply

