Skip to content
June 16, 2007 / allyo

Gulp

Operation: Sleepover has begun. I just left my friend A’s house after having lunch there with Jamie. He’s not so sure how he feels about this “sleepover” thing but he loves being there so we’ll see how it goes. Of course I was a nervous Nelly and kept going over things A might need to know to get them all through the night unscathed, and even had her stand there while I went through his bag, pointing out all the things that I had already told her were in there. Because she might not be able to figure out which of the clothes are his pjs, or might get the nighttime/daytime/swim pullups mixed up, or heaven forbid, what if she couldn’t find his toothbrush?? Oh my god my baby, what was I thinking? Yeah. She humored me.

So Mad Dog’s cleaning out the animal cages and I’m sitting here wondering what to do with myself in the 20 minutes or so before we leave to run errands. Lay down? Watch tv? File my nails? The possibilities are endless and the silence, deafening.

Later we’re going to an actual party at the house of a pair of grownups who don’t have children. I’m not sure what we’ll possibly find to talk about with this new and undiscovered species of “childless” humans. Fortunately there will be plenty of beer there to help lubricate the awkwardness. Although I know I’ll be waiting for the call that will tell me that a) Jamie is happily sleeping or b) he’s on the ceiling, come pick him up. Which one I’ll want to actually get, I don’t know. I think there’s a good chance he’ll get through this better than me.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. whylime / Jun 16 2007 8:51 pm

    so- how’d it go? the first sleepover is a total nailbiter. And we’ve only had one! Congrats on this milestone!

Leave a Reply

