Skip to content
May 23, 2007 / allyo

It’s about time

purple purse
It’s about time I a) posted a finished project that took longer than 30 minutes to complete, and b) it’s about time I finished my sister’s birthday present. My sister, the Christmas baby. Ouch. (Oh, that’s a lampshade, yes. It was a crappy, rainy day and I wanted to get it as close to the window as possible. The pictures still aren’t that great.)

This was from a free web tutorial and I had some problems. The round part is drawn freehand and I realized after assembling the inner and outer layers that it should have nipped in more at the top. Or, in other words, instead of a half circle shape, my pattern proabably should have resembled more of a crescent. But that’s not why I put it away for 3 4 months. (Yeah, if you do the math you’ll realize I didn’t start it until after Christmas. Poor sis.) That happened when I realized the length of the handles in the pattern wasn’t long enough for my version. Maybe it’s because my overall shape was off, maybe it was because I never remember to use 1/2 inch seam allowances, usually going for about 1/8 inch instead, but for whatever reason, I was coming up way short. No problem, right? Just cut two more pieces (one for the outer part, one for the lining) and attach. But then I started to get fancy. I decided to use the contrasting purple fabric for the outer handle. Fine. And then I decided to offset the handle inserts. And then realized, once I sewed too far to go back, that I wasn’t sure now how to assemble the handle.

purple purse

If you’ve done this sort of purse before you should know what I mean, if not, I’m not going to bore you. But that’s why it sat for so long. Then finally, I realized I could turn the purse inside out after sewing the inner and outer layers together, sew the inner and outer handles closed separately, and then press and topstitch the open parts together.

It worked, except that my new worry came true – the outer layer was a tad bit longer than the inner layer. So I had to sew the extra fabric down once I topstitched. But then the fabric wasn’t laying flat, so I decided the quilt the hell out of it, and what do you know, it worked. In fact, Mad Dog claims it looks like I meant to do it exactly this way the entire time.

purple purse

It’s been delivered (finally) and I think she likes it. I sure hope so. I’d hate to see it languishing in the back of a closet after all that.

purple purse

I mean, look at the happy yellow lining. Just don’t look too closely or you’ll see a big mistake.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. thordora / May 23 2007 7:21 pm

    if she doesn’t like it, feel free to send it to Canada.

  2. Vienna / May 23 2007 11:25 pm

    Cute! I adore it.

Trackbacks

  1. Finished: crochet « many good things

Leave a Reply

