Skip to content
April 13, 2007 / allyo

Things I know

  1. One important reason why people stay married that I don’t hear discussed a lot is the freedom (and the balls) to say to your partner, “I love you but I can’t live with you like this.” Whether it’s me telling MD he needs to talk to his doctor about pain management, or if it’s him telling me I need to talk to mine about how the hell to not turn crazy one week out of the month, it is absolutely crucial.
  2. For me the worst thing about recurring depression* is coming out of it. You wake up, look around, and see that your house is in shambles, you have no idea why you yelled at your spouse/child/dog so much yesterday, and your stomach turns when you see the pile of easter candy wrappers next to your bed. The only thing to do though is to pick up the house, fold the laundry, cuddle your kid, thank your husband, pet your dog, and keep moving forward.
  3. Women’s health needs to be taken a hell of a lot more seriously. I am however encourage by something I read in this article – PMDD has recently been listed as an official psychiatric diagnosis. Well flippin’ hallelujiah. Of course the article goes on to say “The fear of this stigma may contribute to women’s reluctance to discuss it with their doctors. ‘I frequently work with patients who have waited years to ask a doctor about premenstrual problems or have been turned away by their health care provider when they tried to discuss symptoms,’ said Jean Endicott, Ph.D., Director of the Premenstrual Evaluation Unit at Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center. ‘They fear becoming the target of jokes or that seeking help is a sign of weakness.'”

Yeah, no shit. In response to Vienna’s comment on my previous post, I’m not sure why my doctor wasn’t more sympathetic the other day. She was extremely so last year. When reading the information she gave me it clearly states that low doses of SSRI’s should be used to treat PMDD so that’s probably why she didn’t offer to up my dose.

My next steps are to resume taking a multivitamin, add calcium to the mix, and exercise exercise exercise. And pray for the return of spring. I don’t think it’s any coincidence that March seems to be the month when I (and MD) get desperate for treatment.

*Yes, recurring depression, that’s what PMDD really does to me (and many others I’m sure).

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. karriew / Apr 13 2007 6:42 pm

    God, I love my primary care physician even more reading this. I;m so sorry. 😦

    Do you have any way of getting a full-spectrum light box? I picked one up at Costco earlier this winter and it did help a bit. I totally, totally hear you on the horrible PMDD stuff. The last cycle I had was a bitch. Truly terrible.

  2. allyo / Apr 13 2007 7:01 pm

    Karrie- I think I’m going to gut it out this year without one because I KNOW spring is around the corner. (Shhhhh, I may be a bit delusional but leave me be ;)) But I was thinking about it this morning and I’m not going through another winter without one.

    I can’t find the sheet my OBGYN gave me but I read in that same article I referenced above that ACOG now has a treatment regimin for PMDD and I bet that’s what it was. I’m going to do some digging and if I find it online I’ll post it here. I think it’s highly unreported – 3-8% of women my ass.

Leave a Reply

