Skip to content
January 29, 2007 / allyo

Sanity and health, slowly returning…

So, I’m a Scorpio and Mad Dog’s an Aries. According to stars, a less than ideal match.

You both are so strong-minded, much of your relationship could be spent attempting to gain the upper hand!

And how. There’s nothing like to grown adults having a full blown argument in front of their two year old about who’s the sickest and who is putting the child to bed that night.

Yeah. I didn’t have quite as mild a version of Jamie’s bug as I had hoped, it just happened somewhat in reverse. Started slowly, ended with, ahem, a bang. I went in to work yesterday afternoon to try and catch up and after a couple of very productive hours found myself lying on the floor of my office with really, really bad stomach cramps praying to just die already. I hung out for about an hour because I knew if I went home I’d have to play mom because MD had started the day puking. Finally I couldn’t take it anymore and by late afternoon was huddled on the couch under a bunch of blankets shivering and feeling as though my brain was on fire.

MD went to the grocery store and picked up dinner for him and Jamie on the way home. I puked my guts up while he was eating and told him he was putting Jamie to bed (we lie down with Jamie in his bed and getting in and out of it is very painful for MD so if I’m home I do it). He sat there, munching on his damn sub sandwich, and told me with a freaking straight face that he felt just as bad as I did.

I wanted to kick him in the nuts.

Today we rehashed and even though we were laughing about it, we were still trying to prove who was the sickest. I’m still convinced that I won. The good news is, I’m better. Good, actually. Completely well, I hope. [knocking on wood]

The high point of my weekend was after Md and I finished shouting at each other and he walked away, probably to restrain himself from kicking me in my metaphorical nuts, Jamie walks up to me with a little plastic plate with his fake, sectioned, wooden food fish and a plastic hamburger bun and with a big grin on his face said, “Here, mommy” “Oh baby, did you make this for me?” “Yeah mommy. Made it!”

The low point was this morning when we realized Cory’s ear, which had been bitten by Maggie in a little skirmish they had, right about the same time MD and I were shouting (that was an action packed 10 minutes) bled all night. I realized this because blood was caked all over his fur on his side, his head, and along his back. Thankfully the rest of the mess was mostly contained to the nasty old dog bed that needed to be tossed anyway. But for christ sake, blood, puke, pee*, all in one weekend. I feel like we need to set off a disinfectant bomb in the house or something. And just for fun, our dryer is blowing the fuse every ten minutes or so so it’s taking forever to dry all the sheets and towels and rags we’ve been using all week.

I’m actually glad tomorrow is Monday. Hopefully things will be back to normal around here.

*Thanks to childbirth, I peed myself WHILE puking. Never felt less dignified. Yes, it trumped having my hooh-hah stitched up for about a half hour by my OBGYN and a med student.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Austina / Feb 2 2007 1:48 am

    Okay I am laughing at the peeing while puking. I totally get it and the hooh – hah! HA HAA

    Sorry to read you are all sick. We are also getting our share of runny noses, sore throats, night sweats, headaches coughing etc. I had my doctor appt today and the boys go tomorrow. Hopefully we will knock this out and regain ourselves as normal people again!

    Settling into this place we call life. Still a little miffed at how we ended up here. But the silver lining is that John and I are solid on what it is we truly want and wan to work towards. WE have a plan and hope to have it in place to get us there quick. Well, when you are better and we are better, maybe a visit would be fun!

    Hugs and drink you fluids… like you haven’t heard that one!

Leave a Reply

