Skip to content
November 19, 2006 / allyo

Weekend book talk

The other night before bed we read Tanka Tanka Skunk (new) and Dr. Seuss’s ABC (favorite for at least 6 months). During both Jamie pretended to read along, mimicking the cadence of my voice perfectly. He’s doing the same with the ABC song. He’s also still insisting on reading long-time favorites himself (like Biscuit-we have a board version that I don’t see listed). Tonight I dug out In the Big Red Barn, and the recognition on his face was priceless. We haven’t read it in months. I got sick of it and I think he did too. But now he’s bow-wowing, and mooing, and cock-a-doodle-doing along and it’s like reading a brand new book now.

As for me, I bought Breathing Lessons at the hospital gift shop last month and just finished it in Boston. I enjoyed it until the last third. The two main characters face a situation from the past and I knew the resolution wouldn’t be satisfying- it wasn’t and it was quite cliche as a matter of fact – and it diluted the focus of what until then had been a very dense character study. I picked up Faith and Politics while in Boston (along with the current issues of the New Yorker, the Economist, and Us — guess which magazine has been read from cover to cover) and I don’t think it’s going to work as a steal a few pages while I can type of book.* I think I’m going to take it to work and kill a few lunch hours. It goes quickly and is written in an engaging matter, but given the subject matter I want to be able to stop and think about and it is taking to long to pick up my train of thought from the last reading. I finaly finished Bushwacked last month, just a few years late, and that was perfect bathroom material because it was so damn depressing I could only handle it in small chunks. Half chapters.

If I can ever find the damn Justin Roberts cd I owe the library I need to get down to the main branch and look through the new sci fi. I need something to balance the non-fiction and regular fiction has never been my favorite. I’m partial to good young adult, fantasy (less so these days, I feel like I’ve run through all the possible scenarios and formulai), and more and more, "near future" or speculative sci fi. Any recommendations?

*meaning of course, my current bathroom book.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kelly / Nov 20 2006 10:41 am

    I LOVED Digging to America — my new favorite Anne Tyler novel. Loved It!

  2. Jody / Nov 24 2006 12:23 pm

    I can only recommend my old standards: The Edge on the Sword (historical young-adult fiction) and Jaran (about 400 years future sci-fi but with a large “fantasy” element b/c the third culture in the mix is pre-industrial). I’m looking for good new books myself!

Leave a Reply

