Skip to content
November 15, 2006 / allyo

Meanwhile, back in Ohio…

Mad Dog called me this morning at around 7:30. He was at the end of his rope. Jamie had been up off and on since 2 screaming, climbing up the fish tank, and refusing to wear any clothes. (And I’m looking forward to going back home?)

This was after a fairly peaceful few days and nights but even so, I can tell the stress of single-parenting has just about done MD in. I hope he enjoyed some of the time he and Jamie had together, although I think even the peaceful moments were so full of worry – how would he get them both out the door every morning on time, what if Jamie decided to not sleep again that night – that I am afraid the whole experience will be seared into his mind as five of the hellish days of his life.

But…that’s the way this parenting gig goes some times. I mean, I wish his leg didn’t hurt so badly and I don’t enjoy knowing how stressed out he is, but the thing is, I do know how stressed out he is. Even though we’ve historically managed our lives with as most equity as possible and neither one of us buy into classic gender roles, and even keeping in mind what a hands-on dad MD is and how much he enjoys his family, as Jamie has gotten older I’ve taken on more and more of the heavy lifting of parenting. The nightime freak-outs, the morning diaper changes, night after night of racing home from work, trying to get a somewhat nutritious meal into a finicky two year old, and yes, dreading bedtime. Maybe, just maybe, this experience has made it more clear to MD just how draining the parenting gig has been on me and how disproportionate our roles have become.

As for me, I’ve enjoyed being away. Although with this cold my theoretically uninterrupted nights have still been interrupted by coughing and sneezing, but the mental break has been just as important as the physical. But I’m happy to be going home this afternoon and can’t wait to give both my guys a big hug and smooch. It’s been fun, Beantown, but I am a true Midwestern girl at heart. Ohio, here I come!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. karrie / Nov 15 2006 9:41 am

    Have a safe trip home!

  2. Ally / Nov 15 2006 4:09 pm

    You had to say it and JINX me!!

Leave a Reply

