Skip to content
October 25, 2006 / allyo

Gulp

Months ago I registered for a conference in November. It was ages away, Jamie would be two, and I felt pretty good about it. So good I also registered for a pre-conference and will be gone for five whole days. My first time away from my baby.

I’ve been so busy I keep thinking – next month I’m leaving – but now, today, realized, I’m leaving in two weeks. It is going to be fine. I’m looking forward to being in Boston – I haven’t been there for years. Hopefully I’ll be able to hook up with Karrie, and the conference should be good. But first times are hard. And for Jamie, with the tonsils last week and starting a new daycare next week (need to write about that soon too), Mommy being gone for five days might be hard. Yes, that’s it. I’m just worried about him…

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kelly / Oct 25 2006 4:31 pm

    I am on the fence about going to a conference in Boston this March. I look forward to living vicariously through your experience before deciding.

  2. Amanda. / Oct 26 2006 8:49 am

    ACK!!! I leave tomorrow to go to KC for 5 days and I am FREAKING OUT!!!

    No advice.

    I’m a mess!

    Is there a virtual way to hold me?

  3. Jody / Oct 26 2006 11:21 am

    I find that the anticipation of trips still fills me with anxiety. Such that I’ve only been away from the kids overnight three times now. Three times in almost six years. Yeesh.

    But on every occasion, once I was gone, I was fine. The time went really quickly, and it was nothing like as bad as I anticipated.

    I hope you have that good luck, too.

  4. Jody / Oct 26 2006 11:21 am

    Oh, yeah, the first time was for an academic conference. That it was work related definitely helped.

Leave a Reply

