Skip to content
October 16, 2006 / allyo

Surgery-eve

I’m letting Jamie stay up a little late tonight because we have to leave for the hospital at 5:30 tomorrow morning* and I don’t want him to pop awake at 5:45 like he did this morning wanting to nurse. I want him to be groggy and tired and barely aware that we’re leaving the house. It’ll probably backfire but anyway, right now he’s racing down the hallway, back and forth, wiping out every so often and I keep telling him to slow down or at least stop at the bathroom door otherwise he just might catapult himself down the stairs and we’ll be at the hospital a few hours early.

I’m nervous. I know he’ll be fine, but I’m still nervous. I just keep reminding myself that other than this small thing, he’s ridiculously healthy and that we’re so lucky this is his first overnight stay in the hospital since he was born.

Still, nervous. My friend D just called me to check in- her son had his adnoids out at a tender young age and she knew I’d be pacing the floors a bit. We’re so lucky to have such good friends and supportive family.

Speaking of my friend D, Jamie and I went apple picking with her family yesterday. He loved it, especially the tractor ride. Big, noisy machine that drove pretty quickly all things considered. He was beaming the whole time.

apple picking

I think he’s watching D and her daughter trying to get the tallest apple off the tree. It was a sight.

*I have to get up at 4:30 tomorrow morning. Gah.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kelly / Oct 17 2006 6:59 am

    I’ll be thinking about you guys today and wishing for a quick and uneventful day. Take care.

  2. Amanda. / Oct 17 2006 8:47 am

    Thinking of all of you!

  3. karrie / Oct 17 2006 3:47 pm

    I hope everything went well today!

  4. Emmie (Better Make It A Double) / Oct 17 2006 3:57 pm

    Thinking of you and Jamie today!

  5. Jody / Oct 17 2006 9:29 pm

    I hope it all went well. Surgery is just freaky, so don’t apologize for being freaked.

    Again: I hope it all went well. Be well.

  6. Moxie / Oct 17 2006 10:26 pm

    Prayed for you guys today. I hope you’re all fine.

  7. Abby / Oct 18 2006 9:51 am

    I am behind…..and slow.

    Hope all went well and Jamie is resting and feeling good.

    Thinking of you all still today. Surgery is always scary especially on your little one.

  8. sherry / Oct 18 2006 12:18 pm

    I’m sorry I’ve been totally out of the loop for so long.

    I hope all is well w/you and Jamie today.

Leave a Reply

