Skip to content
July 27, 2006 / allyo

Corners of my home – sewing room/office

I haven’t made a lot of headway on the project list lately, mostly because of those pesky little real-life tasks like laundry or putting the kid to bed. Last friday I had the afternoon to myself and I completely rearranged our home office which now houses my sewing machine and all my supplies. I didn’t take before pictures because it was too depressing, so just picture piles and piles of junk flanking the desks.

Here’s what you see from the hallway-

office/sewing room

Moving around the room, counterclockwise-

office/sewing room

(Yep, my sewing maching is on a cardtable. Nice and shaky!) The plaid seersucker on the sewing table is one of the reasons the project list is currently stalled, but I’ll talk about that later.
Fabric – I’m going to outgrow that corner soon, but it works for now.

office/sewing room

It actually looks less cluttered in person and I’ve gone from shutting the door on the mess and shaking my head sadly to leaving it open at every opportunity. The lighting could be better, but it’s one of the brigher rooms in our house. We’ll be moving things around soon and will be able to put in another bookcase in a corner not pictured here which will allow me to clean off some of my bookshelves and make room for MORE sewing supplies! The bookshelves need to be completely reorganized, really.

Can you believe this was a bedroom? Before we ripped the closet out, it had exactly enough room for a twin bed and dresser with a narrow walkway between them.

I just joined my first flickr group – see more corners of my home here.

Leave a Reply

