Skip to content
June 28, 2006 / allyo

Quality/quantity

Oh my poor bottom. I just sat down to post a little, and forgot that my chair was off to the side at my sewing table so I sat down on…the floor. Ouch. Earlier I was getting up from Jamie’s bed and tripped, falling on the other butt cheek. Now I’m even I guess. Wait, maybe not. When I was walking out of Jamie’s room (after the bed-tripping, before the floor-sitting) I stubbed my little toe really, really hard. What the heck is wrong with me?

Anyway, I’ve been thinking a lot about time lately. Quality of vs. quantity, specifically in regards to the tiny dictator that lives in my house. Sometimes I worry on the weekends that we’re not "doing" enough. I guess I want there to be a lot of fun and some learning in those precious 48 hours a week we spend together as a family. That’s insane of course, and I don’t want to be "that" kind of mom. There’s value in just living, and the fun and the learning can come through the most mundane of tasks – planting a garden, folding laundry, taking a bath.

Now that Jamie is apparently going to bed at nine-o-freaking-clock, I’m letting go of my expectations during the week as well. I’ve often felt like an under-acheiving WOH mom as it is. I don’t sing songs or maintain a constant dialogue on the way home from daycare – often I zone out on music or news, only snapping to the fifthteenth time Jamie’s said, "TRUCK??" Sometimes I veg out in front of the tv even before Jamie goes to bed. There are weeks where we hit the drive through a few too many times. But still, for the most part, I’ve been able to focus on Jamie in the early part of the evening, then everything else – dishes, laundry, cleaning, even tv (and now sewing) – after he goes to bed. That’s not possible with this late of a bedtime, so this evening we did all those chores together. I think one of the things I like the most about him growing up is that I feel more and more like I’m just living my life. It’s not totally the life I had before he was born, but it resembles it a lot more closely than it did a year ago. With lots more good parts and lots less bad ones. It’s a win-win situation.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Emmie (Better Make It A Double) / Jun 29 2006 10:14 am

    That last part is so nice to hear. I get tiny glimpses of that now. When I’m not keeping them from biting each other or climbing up onto the computer table..

Leave a Reply

