Skip to content
April 19, 2006 / allyo

Destructo-dog does it again

Yesterday Cory managed to get into the cloth diapers, and destroyed them. It was almost washing day, so the majority of the stash bore the brunt of his wrath. I MAY be able to salvage two happy heineys, and the bummi cover just has a small tear. Only one prefold was destroyed, of course. This pup has a taste for only the finest polyester pocket dipes! We lost a fuzzi bunz, three happy heineys, and the very cute pocket diaper I recently got from Moxie in a trade for a wonderoo. And the $20 hanging diaper pail. Fortunately, he only chewed two inserts, and I have extras, so we just have to replace the diapers. Which I bought with my own money, not the joint household money, over a period of months. MD has offered to split the cost of the five replacement diapers with me, bless his heart.

Anyway, when we came home yesterday and I found the nasty, stinking mess, I fucking lost it. Like, to the point that Jamie started crying. I even whalloped Cory on the bottom so hard he sat down from surprise. I am so ashamed. But it was the proverbial straw/camel/back situation. MD got me calmed down pretty quickly and I gathered Jamie up for smooches and tickles and we went out back and played on his new slide and I’m pretty sure I didn’t scar him for life.

While I was talking to MD on the phone, I opened the drapes so I could open the window, and the curtain rod fell down. Then Jamie broke a dog dish while "helping" me feed the dogs. I was afraid to cook dinner, because I figured I’d catch the house on fire or something. So I drank wine instead. (Don’t worry, I fed the kid.)

Back to hibernation. Ciao.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. kj / Apr 19 2006 11:03 pm

    If you fed the kid, you did your job.

    I’m now at 3 kids and 2 dogs, and the meannesses I have inflicted on them in frustration, when they, and their food-stealing kid-knocking-over diaper-eating (yes, mine too) habits have been the last straw…I’m ashamed too.
    I hope this will cheer you up, or at least not push you over the edge–TAG!

  2. whylime / Apr 20 2006 9:24 am

    What a shitty, shitty day! But the good news? Jamie has a new slide. yay! yay! And there are small joys in the midst of mayhem. {hug}

  3. KatS / Apr 23 2006 5:07 pm

    Ally,

    I am so sorry about your boss.

    I am also sorry about the destruction wreaked on your house by Cory. That sounds like such a stressful thing. Horribly frustrating!

    I am ashamed to say I’ve been known to give a bum-smack to my dog a time or two. Not hard enough to arrest me, but with anger so I felt shame about it later.

    Sounds like you did the right thing in the end. Fed your son the DRANK WINE!

  4. Moxie / Apr 26 2006 5:15 pm

    This is why I couldn’t have a dog. The cat drives me nuts enough, and she doesn’t even chew anything (she barely chews her food).

    Are you going new or Ebay for the diapers?

  5. karrie / Apr 30 2006 6:11 am

    I’m with Moxie. Wait…we have a dog. I keep hoping the dog will run away. Pain in the ass pooping machine that it is.

Leave a Reply

