Skip to content
March 20, 2006 / allyo

Looks like we made the right call

Moxie takes on our latest sleep issue. I’m copying my comments below. What can I say? I’m feeling lazy and this is a perfect, insta-blog entry.

*****

Well, it took us all weekend to
shop for and buy the mattress and a dresser to replace the changing
table (and to put the dresser together, but that’s another story) so
last night was the first night in the new bed. And of course, either
the damn molars or another ear infection had him waking, screaming,
almost hourly. But I did get to test my theory that I could just sleep
next to him on a bad night! And he went down just fine, which, I have to
tell you, your advice about betime not being stressful is right on.
It’s always been my philosphy as well, and that’s why we’ve coslept off
and on, because I just don’t have the patience or the energy to mess
around. If it’s bedtime, I want the kid asleep and in bed so I can move
on with the evening. I’ve been feeling an enormous sense of relief
about not having to deal with the crib at bedtime, and I’ve actually
been putting him down in our bed from the start since the crib-climbing
incident and he’s been sleeping straight through until 5 or so.

"Our daughter has never been the type who wants to get up and play at night."

That’s Jamie exactly, which is why I’ve dealt with his nightwakings
the way I have. Even our pediatrician, who raisesd an eyebrow when at
his 15 month checkup found out he was waking again at night, dismissed
it when I told her they were brief, less than a minute or so, wakings.

Even if we continue to cosleep off and on, I think, Moxie, you’re
exactly right about the power struggle. This takes the power issue out
of the equation, which means I’m not second-guessing myself anymore and
can respond to the situation at hand, rather than wondering how my
respons is going to impact things down the road.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Sherry / Mar 21 2006 9:47 am

    I think you’re doing a fantastic job, and Moxie’s advice seems right on.

    Can I refer back to this in a few months when I’m certain both my kids will be up to much the same?

Leave a Reply

