Skip to content
February 27, 2006 / allyo

I’m not a weaner! (Really…)

The topic of my last LLL meeting was weaning, and I have to say, I wasn’t thrilled with the discussion. It’s a first for this group, but there was too much "rah rah" and not enough practical talk. And I think I was a big voice of dissent, not on purpose, but because nursing’s been driving me nuts lately.

Frequency: Jamie’s still doing the night nursing thing, mostly due to those ding-dang molars that are still creeping along. They always tell you that nursing a toddler isn’t like nursing a newborn, but they forgot to add the caveat, "except when it’s like nursing a newborn."

Body: Yes, I’ve reached the stage where I’d kinda like to have my body back. Not much to do about that than wait it out, but I have moments when suckling feels more like sucking (can’t describe it better than that, sorry) and I just don’t want to do it. Not just when I’m on my period either.

Dependency: This is something MD and I have to work on, but I put that kid down to sleep every single freaking night, and for his nap most weekends. It’s gotta stop. It’s not fair on so many levels, and I’m over it.

I guess that covers it…it seems like such a small list now that it’s written out. I just think that we should be "allowed" to say, "I don’t like nursing right now. I’m still gonna do it, but I don’t like it." And usually, my group is more open-minded. Not sure what the weird vibe was all about. But it’s been bugging me. I guess I came across as the cranky one, when I know I’m not the only person in the world to ever feel this way.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. MoMo / Feb 27 2006 3:35 pm

    I feel exactly the same way. It’s not the nursing that I dislike, it’s the responsibility that comes with it — at 15 months old, my son can only be put to sleep by me for every nap and bedtime, and he can only be put back to sleep in the middle of the night by me. It’s exhausting!

    P.S. When, oh when are the molars going to stop??

  2. Kateri / Feb 28 2006 8:19 am

    Weaning meetings are hard to do. The line between “rah rah” and real support is a hard one to find…on the one hand, you want to normalize extended breastfeeding and not scare the moms there with newborns, on the other hand, people in the thick of it need support, because it’s *not easy* to nurse a toddler.

  3. Amanda / Feb 28 2006 8:02 pm

    Breastfeeding sucks…. that’s my mantra. Sure, it’s free and superior nutrition and all that hooh-hah but you don’t have to love it all the time and that’s ok. I’m only at 8 months and I’m over it but here’s my .02, mothering a toddler isn’t any easier when you’re not nursing and chances are, you’d still be on bed/nap duty. At least I was. Maybe I’m a bit down about this but I was getting ready to start a thread on BC about how much harder, IMO, it is to nurse an 8 month old than a newborn!

  4. Mama C-ta / Feb 28 2006 9:06 pm

    I have no idea what it’s like to nurse a toddler but I think not enjoying it every darn second is a totally normal thing to feel. I wish there was more support for you. I’ve only been nursing for 7.5 months and there are soooo many times (and days, weeks, months) where I just want it to be over. It doesn’t mean I’ll stop but doesn’t mean I won’t feel that way!

  5. KatS / Feb 28 2006 9:07 pm

    I totally get this! On one level I am SO sick of nursing, on another, it is very endearing when Mini pulls of the breast to flip at her lips while humming (you know, to make that cute noise, blaab, blaab, blaab).

    She FINALLY will go to my partner in the middle of the night, not just to me. Granted, my partner has to wake-up completely and take her to listen to music or something, but HEY, I’ve been waking-up almost every night since the child was born.

    Luckily, we are mostly doing ok during the day with the “don’t offer, don’t refuse” although if she’s had a rough moment, or is not drinking enough I DO offer.

  6. emmalola / Mar 1 2006 11:01 am

    All I can say is that it gets better. There are rough patches, there are good moments, and when the time to end arrives, you will know and you will be ready. And it could still take you four months to wean, like it’s taking us. But at some point the irritating “I’m over it” feeling went away and we found peace with extended breastfeeding. I’m not trying to be all rah-rah- in fact, that was the last LLL meeting I went to, but I want to reassure you that you’re the mommy and you know what’s right for your boy.

Leave a Reply

