Skip to content
February 10, 2006 / allyo

WW, Week3/SBD, Week 1

I weighed in yesterday and I lost 3.2 lbs last week! WHOOT! I switch to the South Beach Diet mid-week it’s made a huge difference, and here’s why.

Last night I skipped my veggies (a major part of the SB diet) and had a bowl of barilla plus spaghetti with semi-homemade meat sauce. Then, I had another because I was still hungry. Then, I had a WW oreo ice cream bar because after I got Jamie to bed I was cranky and sluggish. Then I had another, because the first one tasted so good. Then I sat on the couch and vegged and went to bed.

I woke up this morning starving, with a disaster of a kitchen, no coffee because I didn’t set the timer or even get it ready the night before, and a newfound realization that starch is BAD FOR ME!

Seriously. I’ve had so much energy since switching to SB, and I don’t know what I attributed it to, but it wasn’t the reduced carbs. Every night this week I’ve cleaned the kitchen and done laundry and picked up the house and have felt really, really good about things. Until last night. Scary!

Now I just have to decide if I want to keep going to WW meetings. I like getting the "official" weight and stamp in my book, but nothing they said yesterday applied to me and I think the money ($11/week) would be better spent on a digital scale. For some reason MD wasn’t very supportive of me stopping WW, I think he thinks it’s better for me or will help me or something. It’s my decision of course, but it’s always good to have the spouse on board. We’ll talk about it this weekend, but being on the SB diet is so easy, I don’t feel like I need as much accountability. Plus, now that I’ve gotten a toe hold on some real weight loss, I don’t want to screw it up. I’m even thinking about starting a graph so I can watch the numbers keep going down, down, down.

Well, yeah, maybe I’m a geek, but I’m also a very visual person, and every time I think about cheating (hard to do on the SBD anyway), I’ll have that picture in my head. So I’m a self-aware geek!

Leave a Reply

