Skip to content
February 2, 2006 / allyo

WW, Week2

I found a meeting a short walk from my office, so I’ll be weighing in at lunch on Tuesdays. A much better leader (the other was enthusiastic, but not very inspiring), and it’s other professionals, which the other meeting…wasn’t. That’s all I can say and still maintain the illusion that I’m overall a nice person.

This week’s weight – down .2 from last week.

Sigh.

So, what am I doing wrong? Well, for one thing, trying to fill up on raw veggies and fruit, which, while great for my colon in the long run, has been making me PAINFULLY bloated and probably adding to that number on the scale. Plus, it’s not really working and I’ve been H.U.N.G.R.Y. for days now and if there’s a reason besides the hypoglycemia thing why I picked the Core plan it’s that on Core, you’re not supposed to be hungry all the time.

So, I’m adjusting the food a bit, and I can tell you, happily, that I’ve only been hungry today at actual mealtimes. And that in fact, right now, I am full. AND, I had a luncheon today and they served us the most beautiful salads, but I sent mine back and got the vegetarian version because the regular ones had heaping piles of not just diced ham but BACON. Mmmm…bacon. So, I sent it back and got one with eggs (core), a smidge of goat cheese (not Core), these really yummy little nuggets that I thought were tiny croutons but were actually sauteed tofu (CORE baby!), avocado (core!), and these funny yet yummy mushrooms that weren’t really dried but weren’t really cooked and definitely weren’t raw and tasted kind of nutty. I have to find out what they were, but anyway, the point is, the mushrooms were core too, so the only "bad" things I had was the less that a tablespoon of goat cheese and the dressing, which I applied judiciously.

And, I skipped the tiny yet delicious little desserts. So yay me.

The other thing I’ve been doing wrong is trying to eliminate ALL fat, when you’re supposed to eat some healthy fat (olive or canola oil) every day. So yay fat. I need it desperately because fat slows down the digestive process and with the whole low blood sugar thing, it’s essential.

Finally, my solution to the carb issue has been to declare Wasa crackers a core food. They’re basically crushed whole grains, and as far as I’m concerned, if corn can be a core food, they can be too. So I’m eating those with almost every meal/snack if another grain isn’t involved and it is helping immensly.

So, those are all my issues! Oh, wait, exercise. Umm, I walked to the Museum today (lunch) instead of driving? That counts, right?!

Yeah, still working on that, considering most of my waking (and sleeping) hours are consumed with the boy and his father and the damn dogs (they’re out of control, I’ll tell you about it some day), and as far as the sleeping goes, there’s very little these days. Those damn top molars are coming in very, very, v e r y  s l o w l y, like at the speed at which glaciers travel, and my poor little muffin man wakes up almost hourly, whimpering and crying and batting at his face and ears. So I nurse him, and then shove some teething tablets in his mouth, and hope for a solid two hours of sleep before it happens again.

All I can say is thank god for the magic boob. All hail the magic boob.

Alas, no recipe this week, I’ve yet to try the ones I linked to last week, although I have the ingredients and at the very latest will make them this weekend. But, I did make a yummy, all core soup that has ground turkey, corn, beans, mixed veggies, onions, garlic, and a variety of seasonings including cumin, curry, paprika, and chili powder. I meant to serve it with cilantro, avocado, yogurt, and salsa, but have only gotten around to the cilantro part. But still, yum yum!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. KatS / Feb 5 2006 3:10 pm

    I feel for you and with you. I am trying hard to lose weight without making myself miserable. I have really cut down on snacking and portions. I do NOT want to eat only a cup of salad greens and 4 oz. of chicken for lunch. I would be HUNGRY! It can be so frustrating. You are doing great!

Leave a Reply

