Skip to content
January 19, 2006 / allyo

Never say never

Not only is work kicking my butt these days (in fun! exciting! ways) but it’s sucking up all my creative juices as well, hence, my not posting much this week. So, sorry about that. But it’s so nice to be challenged again.

If you poke around my archives from probably about this time last year (I’m feeling way to lazy to do it myself), you’ll see several references to cosleeping, namely, that we don’t do it. Well, with the great 9 month sleep regression that so many in mommyblogland experience, and that, thanks to Moxie, we know is normal and temporary, I started cosleeping, but strictly to survive. We nightweaned some time before Jamie turned a year old, and he went back to the crib fulltime, and then, not to long after, came back to our bed, again, for survival.

But the thing is…I’m really, really enjoying cosleeping. Especially now that there are some nights that he wakes maybe once between 9 pm and 5 am and I’m barely awake a minute getting him resettled. It’s just so nice and snuggly. So, here I am, he’s 15 months old, and I’m becoming a committed cosleeper.

I’m telling you, if we have another baby, I’m strapping the crib to the bed from day one and never looking back. Sometimes I think I want another just so I can do everything "right" this time around.

The other "never say never" topic is that of weightloss. I am very anti-diet. Anti-scale. Pro-feeling good about yourself no matter what. It’s all a somewhat healthy response to my grandmother’s very unhealthy attitude towards weight. I was super skinny in high school (I’m going to scan and post pictures, I promise). I’m 5’4 1/2" and weighed 118 lbs. I’m a fairly dense person, and there are pictures in existence that show it was a painfully thin weight for me. I gained 10 lbs some time between junior and senior year, and actually looked healthy, but my grandma, in her infinite wisdom, slapped my fat ass in weight watchers.

Many years and a lot of pounds later, it was finally MD that helped me dump this particular bit of baggage. I was tearing myself down, like my grandma taught me to do so well, and he just said….stop it. You’re beautiful and I love you and I cannot listen to you anymore. You have to stop.

So, I did. But, I have gained weight that I’m not happy with. And it’s no more healthy to defiantly hang onto extra poundage just to show certain people that you can be attractive and happy even if you’re not built like barbie, than it is to be consumed with being thin. It’s all about balance. So, I’m joining….wait for it…Weight Watchers. Wish me luck.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mama C-ta / Jan 20 2006 2:32 pm

    That’s so cool you are enjoying the co-sleeping!! I love it too. But don’t feel like you’ve done things “wrong” the fist time around. You and your babe are experiencing the many joys of co-sleeping now. Especially you are probably past the initial fears of rolling over on a 10 lb baby. (Looking through archives to find original thoughts on co-sleeping)

    Also I think Weight Watchers is a very healthy diet choice. I used to unofficially do it. Never went to the meetings b/c according to them I did not qualify so I had friends pick me up the books and all that. You will do great!

  2. Amanda / Jan 20 2006 7:26 pm

    Good luck!

    BTW, I really enjoy reading your blog!

  3. emmalola / Jan 21 2006 1:37 pm

    good luck! I had great success with WW. The secret for me was finding a good group leader, then making the commitment to actually attend meetings. But it worked! And I loved co-sleeping with the lentil, but there came a day when we just had to move him out out out!

  4. Moxie / Jan 24 2006 1:05 pm

    I think sleeping with any boy is more fun if he just wants to snuggle and isn’t trying to get at your boobs all the time.:)

    Do any of us not have weight issues? It sometimes surprises me how many women I know who were an unhealthy weight in high school (like me) and who are really just now starting to try to work through it. WW is probably the most sensible, balanced way to lose weight (I used to develop recipes for them), so the experience might be kind of healing for you.

Leave a Reply

