Skip to content
September 29, 2005 / allyo

My dear DVR

For some reason, after kind of a dry spell in the last few years, I’m awash in tv I love. It’s to the point where we have the dvr set up in one room and the vcr in the other (our cable company’s dvr only records one show at a time, drat). Off the top of my head, we’re watching Medium, Bones (not so great but David Boreanaz is YUMMY!), House, Amazing Race, Veronica Mars, Lost, Gilmore Girls, Alias, CSI, Desperate Housewives, Extreme Makeover Home Edition, and at least one more show on Wednesday I can’t remember. How sad is that?

Yes, I really enjoy tv. I used to be apologetic about it, but now, I bask in all it’s pop-culture glory. I work in the arts, I get plenty of culture 9-5 and many evenings as well. I’m picky, I don’t like just any tv, and for years completely eschewed the reality genre until the Amazing Race sucked me in. I’m just sad I didn’t start watching it until the 4th season. Now of course MD and I are completely enamoured with Home Makeover and get choked up over almost every show.

I love "genre" television, not surprising since I growing up I devoured every single fantasy series I could get my grubby little hands on. These days, when I’m not reading parenting books or staring blankly into space, I’m reading near-future sci fi, or speculative fiction. I’ve thought about starting a book blog, for my own enjoyment mostly, and because I go to the library, pull books randomly from the new book rack, read them, enjoy them, take them back, and then promptly forget their titles and authors. Then a year or so later I’ll recall a plot and think I’d really like to own the book but the title has vanished from my memory.

Anyway, back to tv. I cannot describe how much I adore our dvr. It kept me company through Jamie’s endless all-night cluster-feeding sessions the first few weeks after he was born, and it’s really the only way I’ve managed to keep a handle on my shows since I went back to work. So tonight, after a horrendous week at home and work (yes, I know it’s only thursday, humor me), after I get the kid into bed, I’m going to pop open a beer and start working my way through the week’s shows. I can’t wait.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Aitch / Sep 30 2005 4:29 pm

    I am so jealous. I crave a DVR so badly. I am a total tv whore too so do not feel bad at ALL!

    I am in love with Lost, Desperate housweives, amazing race, survivor, apprentice, Medium, nip/tuck, iand threshold just to name a few!

Leave a Reply

