Skip to content
April 18, 2005 / allyo

Bedtime, 6 months, and other musings

I realized something yesterday. The Boy is 6 months old, and I’ve never not been there for his bedtime. In fact, 99% of the time I put him to bed before Mad Dog is home, so it’s just the two of us. I was thinking about this because tonight I’ll be teaching a class so MD will be handling the nighty-nights.

It’s funny, this was never a goal for me but somehow it’s…satisfying. I’m really not sure why.

I think partly because the 6 month mark is such a turning point. The first 6 months are spent transitioning to life outside the womb, recognizing Mom and Dad and other VIPs, focusing, realizing you have a body and that it is separate from Mom’s. Development is occuring at an amazing rate, but the second 6 months are even more breakneck. Rolling, sitting, babbling, crawling, pulling up, cruising. Solids. Even walking. My little critter is becoming more and more his own person every day and it’s a joy to watch and be a part of.

I’m also evolving in my Mom-role. I don’t have to be there every second I’m not at work. I mean, I did get out to some extent in the first 6 months, but I can see it happening a little more often. A couple of weeknight evenings here and there, more shopping trips or lunches with the girls one weekends. I’m not planning on weaning anytime soon, but with the introduction of solids we’re already starting the process. If something catastrophic happened and my supply dried up tomorrow I’d be really, really upset, but in the first months back to work our nursing relationship was sometimes the only thing that kept me sane. If I couldn’t be there for my baby, at least my milk was. At least we still had that bond (and still do) when we were together.

I’m never going to pull it together to do a monthly posting about the Boy’s development, so I’ll just take this opportunity to mention, month 5 was all about feet. He discovered his feet, he spent some time gazing at them longingly, and then finally figured out how to get those delicious little toes into his mouth. Month six was all about banging, scooting, rolling and sitting. The Boy bangs his toys so violently against his high chair tray he squeezes his eyes shut and winces.

You can’t blink your eyes around here because you might miss something. One day I went to the bathroom. The boy was laying happily on the floor on his back playing with a toy. I come out of the bathroom, he’s rolled all the way across the room. The day before the Boy turned six months he suddenly got really good at sitting. Just the day before that we were telling the pediatrician that, eh, sitting, not happening so good yet. I’m telling you, one day soon I’m going to turn around and my teenager is going to be asking for the keys to the car.

Leave a Reply

