Skip to content
February 18, 2005 / allyo

Cautionary tale

My friend D and I were emailing back and forth the other day, talking about my supply issues. She had lots of tips because she struggled to keep up with her baby as well. One thing she mentioned was popping the front cover of the pump to clean behind it. Oh, the front cover comes off? Ok.

 

 

So I do this before my lunchtime pumping session, snap it back on securely, hook myself up, turn the pump on and…wow. WOW. That feels really…different. Like, maybe the front cover wasn’t on securely. Like, maybe it’s never been on securely but got even looser about three weeks ago when these supply issues started. So I hoped and pumped, and hoped and pumped some more.

 

 

That night, the Boy ate at 7, went to sleep, snacked briefly at 8:30, and slept until his 10 p feeding. Huh. I wonder…if my supply was dropping because of the pump, has he been cluster feeding every night to bring it back up?? So the next morning I hooked myself up for my first session. I breathed deeply, trying to hope too much or stress too much, because that of course can cause you to pump less. As a point of reference, I had pumped 3.5 oz. at this session the day before (that’s really pathetic, btw). I turned the machine on, checked my email, did my daily blog rounds, looked down and wow. Still flowing. Twenty minutes goes by, still going strong. Thirty. Still going. Finally, after forty minutes – my usual session is 15-2 – the girls are dry. I unhook the bottles and oh my word. SEVEN OUNCES! Double from the day before. By the end of the day I was back up to 20 oz., my minimum daily quota. The Boy ate well last night and slept through to his 10 p feeding. And this morning I pumped NINE ounces.

 

 

So, if you plan on breastfeeding and working outside the home, my advice would be, get a really good pump, read the directions, and make sure all the fucking parts are attached right.

Leave a Reply

